VI Update

USVI Public Records

A VI Update Project · Brian LoudenThe territory’s public record — kept public.

Historic Architecture of the Virgin Islands

Collection
Federal Reference
Sub-shelf
npshistory.com (National Park Service)
Kind
Reference Document
Date
1966-02
Pages
132
Text
Native Text

Historic Architecture of the VIRGIN ISLANDS SELECTIONS FROM THE HISTORIC AMERICAN BUILDINGS SURVEY NUMBER 1 Historic Architecture of the VIRGIN ISLANDS Selection from the Historic American Buildings Survey Number 1 Historic American Buildings Survey Eastern Office, Design and Construction National Park Service 143 South Third Street Philadelphia, Pennsylvania February, 1966 I TABLE OF CONTENTS I Table of Contents II Introduction III Selection of Historic American Buildings Survey Virgin Islands Records ST. CROIX CHRISTIANSTED: Customhouse and Post Office, now Christiansted Library (VI-4)j S. side Christiansted Wharf Square, at foot of Hospital St.; Christiansted National Historic Site. Fort Christiansvaern (VI-5), Waterfront at foot of Company St.; Christiansted National Historic Site. "Steeple Building," formerly the Lutheran Church of the Lord of Zebaoth (VI-1), Company St. between Church and Hospital Sts.; Christiansted National Historic Site. ST. THOMAS CHARLOTTE AMALIE: "Catharineberg," Governor Hans Hendrik Berg House (now Denmark Hill) (VI-12), Estate Ho. …

Download the original document · Plain text (TXT) · Browse the archive · How this archive works

Original source: https://npshistory.com/publications/habs-haer-hals/selections/1.pdf

SHA-256 202e83f14e76ed28f7e9d363d2fba2b472668cc8bc8ef5bccb65823c2c2a8f4c

Re-using this document

Our description, tagging, arrangement, extracted text and machine transcripts are released under CC0 1.0. We assert nothing about the document itself.

Archive identifier LF-202e83f14e76

Document text

Historic Architecture of the VIRGIN ISLANDS SELECTIONS FROM THE HISTORIC AMERICAN BUILDINGS SURVEY NUMBER 1 Historic Architecture of the VIRGIN ISLANDS Selection from the Historic American Buildings Survey Number 1 Historic American Buildings Survey Eastern Office, Design and Construction National Park Service 143 South Third Street Philadelphia, Pennsylvania February, 1966 I TABLE OF CONTENTS I Table of Contents II Introduction III Selection of Historic American Buildings Survey Virgin Islands Records ST. CROIX CHRISTIANSTED: Customhouse and Post Office, now Christiansted Library (VI-4)j S. side Christiansted Wharf Square, at foot of Hospital St.; Christiansted National Historic Site. Fort Christiansvaern (VI-5), Waterfront at foot of Company St.; Christiansted National Historic Site. "Steeple Building," formerly the Lutheran Church of the Lord of Zebaoth (VI-1), Company St. between Church and Hospital Sts.; Christiansted National Historic Site. ST. THOMAS CHARLOTTE AMALIE: "Catharineberg," Governor Hans Hendrik Berg House (now Denmark Hill) (VI-12), Estate Ho. 8, Store Mordside Quarter. Frederiksfort, "Bluebeard's Castle" (VI-16), Bluebeard's Hill. Government House (VI-17), Kongens Gade 21-22. Lind, Jacob H. S., House; now Bethania, Frederick Lutheran Church Parish Hall (VI-15), N^rre Gade 6. Synagogue of Beracha Veshalom Vegemiluth Hasidim (Blessing and Peace and Acts of Piety) (VI-10), Krystal Gade 16A and B. (The data pages in this bound volume are arranged alphabetically— without consecutive pagination—by geographic location and his- toric building name. This method of indexing is the standard form for Historic American Buildings Survey catalogs.) IV a. List of Virgin Islands structures for which records are available at Historic American Buildings Survey archives at Library of Congress. b. List of Virgin Islands structures for which records have been partially completed. II IHTRODUCTION Shortly after the Historic American Buildings Survey was re- activated in 1957> public concern for the preservation and study of the significant historic architecture of the Virgin Islands grew because of rapid land development. The postwar years had brought an economic prosperity to the Islands that they had not enjoyed since the early nineteenth century when sugar production was at its peak and the Island- ' great wealth had been created. This rapidly expanding economy_, based to a great extent on tourism, has threatened many Important structures that had been left untouched since the time when the Islands were a Danish colony. The National Park Service has led the way in the preservation of both the natural and man-made "resources" of the Islands. In 1952 the Christiansted national Historic Site was estab- lished following a proposal by the St. Croi;: Landmarks Society. Under a co-operative agreement with the Virgin Islands Govern- ment, the Government House and Wharf Area of Christiansted were preserved "as excellent examples of the Danish economy and way of life." In 1956 Congress authorized the estab- lishment of the Virgin Islands National Park following the presentation of 5,COO acres of land on St. John by Jackson Hole^, Inc.; Laurence Rockefeller; president. The Park Service's active involvement not only in the preservation of the Islands: resources; but also in the preservation of the culture and economic life; has prompted the HABS to make permanent records of the best examples of the Islands1 historic architecture. Charles E. Peterson.; former HABS Supervising Architect of the Eastern Office; Design and Construction in Philadelphia; initiated a recording program in the Virgin Islands in 1958 with a commission for photographic work on St. Croix given to the nationally known photographer Frits Henle and a commission on St. Thomas given to Don Toschi. Historical and architectural research was undertaken by Frederik C. Gjessing; the national Park Service architect responsible for the Service's preser- vation and restoration program in the Caribbean area. Many of the measured drawings and much of the research that form a part of this restoration program have been incorporated in the HAT3S records. Mr. Gjessing's rork was supported by Herbert Olsen; Rational Park Service historian; and by Philip E. Gardner and J. Michael Everett; National Pari; Service architects. This . •• rJ_aZ. recor(3-ing was also augmented by additonal photographic work by Rational Perk Service photographer Jack E. Boucher in .:.-. In 19og work was undertaken to complete these records under the direction of James C. Massey, HABS Supervisory Architect; recent research in the summer was carried on by Dr. Osmund Overby, Professor of Art History at the University of Missouri and National Park Service architect in Washington and the Virgin Islands. In i960 the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Copenhagen, Denmark, sent a small exploratory expedition, comprised of four members of their architectural faculty, to visit the Islands. They collaborated with the National Park Service, and arrangements were made to send out an expedition of faculty and students to "map out, register, survey, and photograph towns, street-interiors, and buildings of historic value." In 1961 twenty-five teachers and students from the Academy arrived in the Virgin Islands for a two-month recording expedition in Charlotte Amalie, Christiansted, and Frederiksted. A selection of the extensive measured- drawings records made by this team--the originals of which are part of the Academy's collection in Copenhagen--have been incorporated in the HABS photo-data books. The historical and architectural data, photographs, and measured drawings included in this publication are a sample selection of the records that had been made by and for the Historic American Buildings Survey for its archives at the Library of Congress. Copies of this material can be obtained through the Division of Prints and Photographs, Library of Congress, Washington, D. C. 2054-0. The University of Missouri through the Research Council and Dr. Osmund Overby, Professor of Art History at the University, has made this publication possible. The University has performed a valuable service in making these studies of the Historic American Buildings Survey much more widely available to r^'-olars and architects. Because of this generosity, copies of these HABS documents are for the first time widely available in university and public libraries throughout the country. CUSTOMHOUSE AND POST OFFICE, Now CHRISTIANSTED LIBRARY Christiansted St. Croix Virgin Islands HISTORIC AMERICAN BUILDINGS SURVEY CUSTOMHOUSE AMD POST OFFICE, NOW CHRISTIANSTED LIBRARY HABS No. VI-A PART I. HISTORICAL INFORMATION A. Physical History 1. Original and subsequent owners: Government of the Danish West Indies to 1917. Government of the Virgin Islands since. 2. Dates of erection and architects: Part of the ground floor of the building dates back to 1751-52. The remainder of the ground floor built 1805, Fr. von Meley, architect. Second story built 1828-30, Johannes von Magens, architect; subsequently modified 1840-42, Albert Lbvmand, architect. B. Supplemental Material: The history of this building has been studied in detail by National Park Service Historian Herbert Olsen, primarily through documentary material in the Danish and American National Archives. The following information on the building has been extracted from his Historic Structures Report, Part I. Library Building (Old Danish Customs House and Post Office), August 1961, copies at Virgin Islands National Park Headquarters, St. Thomas, and Eastern Office, Division of Design and Construction, National Park Service, 143 South Third Street, Philadelphia: Address: South side Christiansted Wharf Square, at foot of Hospital Street; Christiansted National Historic Site, Christiansted, St. Croix, Virgin Islands. Present Owner: Government of the Virgin Islands. Present Occupant Christiansted Library. and Us e: Statement of Christiansted, as the chief port of St. Croix, Significance: was an important trading center in the 18th and 19th centuries; it exported large quantities of sugar, rum, and molasses. This building, which was the Christiansted Customs House from the 1760's to 1878, was therefore of considerable importance to the economic life of the community, and is now preserved as part of the Christiansted National Historic Site. CUSTOMHOUSE AND POST OFFICE, now CHRISTIANSTED LIBRARY HABS No. VI-4 (Page 2) SYNOPSIS OF GENERAL HISTORY 1734-38 Sometime during this era, a one story, half-timbered ware- house measuring about 50 feet by 20 feet was erected in the wharf area of Christiansted by the Danish West India and Guinea Company. 1742 A two story, half-timbered, shingled house was built next to the warehouse as a residence for the bookkeeper of the Danish West India and Guinea Company. 1751 The Privy Council of St. Croix decided to remove the second floor of the bookkeeper's house and to enlarge the ground floor in masonry. 1751-52 A nev/ house was constructed for the bookkeeper next to the warehouse. Records indicate that it was one story high; was built of "Bermudes Steen", a form of sandstone imported from Bermuda; had a shingled roof; neasured approximately 42 feet by 19 feet externally; and had several buildings. 1765 The Governor General of the Danish 'West Indies and the Privy Council of St. Croix proposed to the Danish State Government that a new customs house be built to replace the existing and dilapidated one. This is the first time that the "book- keeper's" residence is referred to as the "customs house . 1768 The Danish State Government approved the construction of a new customs house in Christiansted. However, even though materials for its construction were bought in 1769, it was never built. 17 98-99 An arcade having six brick pillars was added to the north side of the customs house, thereby increasing ground floor dimensions to 42 feet by 29 feet. A new shingled roof with one large and four small dormers facing north-south was laid on the building. Other renovations, including an exterior stairway and platform to the second floor, increased altera- tion costs to 4,400 Rigsdalers. 1802 Efforts to repair the old warehouse proved fruitless when it collapsed, and the building was completely torn down and removed from the site. 1805 A new warehouse matching the customs house in design was built next to the customs house by Thomas and John Aylmer at a cost of 8,500 Rigsdalers. The customs house was reshingled and the platform of the exterior stairway was altered to conform to that of the nev/ warehouse. CUSTOMHOUSE AND POST OFFICE, now CHRISTIANSTED LIBRARY HABS No. VI-4 (Page 3) 1823 The wooden second story of the customs house was reported to be in danger of falling down. The colonial government submitted a request to the home government for authorization to rebuild the second story in brick. 1828-29 Customs Treasurer Testmann was awarded a contract to rebuild the second story of the customs house for the sum of $5,625 Danish West Indies currency. The wooden second stories of both the customs house and the adjoining warehouse were re- moved. A new brick second story measuring about 60 feet by 30 feet by 14 feet, with parapet, was erected. A flat brick roof was laid over the remaining one story area of the ware- house, which was also somewhat shortened and squared off in the process. Although not included in the original plans and contract, an extension of about 26 feet by 10 feet was built on the north side of the customs house, and access to the second story was provided by means of a stairway erected on the east side of this extension. 1840-42 The colonial government decided to convert the second floor of the customs house from a residence for the customs treasurer into offices for the customs service. The exterior stairway on the east side of the northern extension of the building was torn down and replaced by the existing stairway on the north side of the extension. The remaining one story sec- tion of the 1805 warehouse was torn down and removed. All outbuildings and enclosures around the customs house were torn down. Sunshades were erected on the east, south, and west sides of the building, and a picket fence was put up between the wooden supports of the sunshades. 1847 A new fiat brick roof was laid on the building by Carpenter G. Meyer, and interior finishes in the second story were completely redone because of water damage. 1902-03 Sometime during this period, a sloping corrugated metal roof was laid over the existing flat brick roof, and the height of the parapet was consequently doubled to hide the altera- tion. 1926-27 The post office moved to other quarters, and the building was converted into a library. GENERAL CONSTRUCTION DATA Building Inspector von Meley submitted the requested plans and estimates for a new warehouse to the colonial government in April 1803, and they were sent to the home government for approval. How- ever, the home government refused to approve the plans because they CUSTOMHOUSE AND POST OFFICE, now CHRIST IilWSTED LIBRARY MBS No. VI-4 (Page 4) called for an expenditure of 9;768 rigsdalers, which was thought to be excessive. Von Meley was called upon to prepare a new set of plans and specifications for the warehouse, therefore, and this time they were approved by the home government at an estimated cost of 7,926 reigdalers. The contract for the construction of the building was subsequently awarded to Thomas and John Aylmer on April 17, 1805, for the sum of 7,000 rigsdalers. Comparison of von Meley's plans of 1803 and 1804 indicate that he achieved the cost reduction in his second set of plans and esti- mates primarily by eliminating dormers from the roof of the ware- house. However, while the building was under construction, the customs inspector and the broker, who were to occupy the attic offices, objected to the lack of dormers on the grounds that their offices would be unbearably hot. These officials agreed to pay 1,500 rigs- dalers out of their own pockets for the construction of dormers. As a result, the facade of the new 'warehouse, when completed in September 1805, matched the customs house in appearance. . . . . . . on April 29, 1823, "when the Building Commission conducted its annual inspection of public buildings, the second story of the customs house was found to be in such poor condition that is was feared that it would fall down in a heavy storm, to say nothing of a hurricane. The commission recommended that the second story be torn down and replaced by a masonry second story measuring 45 feet by 30 feet by 12 feet, inclusive of a parapet around a flat brick roof. The existing masonry pillars of the arcade were to be arched over to bear the north wall of the new second story. In view of the expense involved in the commission's proposal, the colonial government submitted it to the home government for approval. More than a year and a half elapsed before the home govern- ment replied, and then it was to complain that the proposal v/as not clear enough and to request that detailed plans and estimates be sub- mitted for approval. Building Inspector von Magens was ordered by the colonial govern- ment on July 13, 1825, to prepare three sets of plans and specifications for the following: (l) a masonry second story on the customs house as a residence for the ""ustoms treasurer and removal of the remainder of the wooden second story on the warehouse, which was to be covered with a flat roof; (2) a masonry second story on the customs house and retention of the wooden second story of the warehouse; and (3) a new wooden second story on the customs house and retention of the wooden second story of the warehouse. Magens prepared the necessary plans and specifications and sub- mitted them to the colonial government on September 7, 1825, and in turn, they were transmitted to the home government on January 24, 1826. The latter approved the first of Magens' proposals, and CUSTOMHOUSE AND POST OFFICE, now CHRISTLiNSTED LIBPARY HABS Mo. VI-4 (Page 5) Governor General Peter von Scholten so informed Magens on December 14, 1827. The contract was subsequently awarded to Customs Treasurer Testmann on March 19, 1828, for the sum of $5,625.42 Danish V/est Indies currency, mainly because Testmann offered to build the second story about 10 feet longer than called for in the plans and estimates at no extra cost to the government. Like the 1823 proposal for the rebuilding of the second story, Magens' plans provided for the erection of a brick masonry second story measuring 45 feet by 30 feet by 12 feet, inclusive of a parapet around a flat brick roof laid on pitch pine beams and lath. To per- mit the erection of the north wall, the existing pillars of the arcade were to be arched over. An exterior brick stairway was to be erected on the north side of the building to provide access to the second story; and the stairway was to be supported on two arches, have a 10- foot-square platform at the top, and be provided with a masonry railing. Construction of the new second story and completion of the other alterations called for was finished by February 1830. However, the completed building differed in some important respects from von Magens' plans. First, the new second story was actually almost 60 feet long, or 15 longer than proposed, which meant that some 17 feet of the ground floor walls of the warehouse erected in 1805 were incorporated into the new two story customs house. This alteration in the plans must also have made it necessary to erect a masonry wall or pillars in the ground floor of the warehouse to support the west end wall of the second story. Secondly, because of the lengthening of the second story, the exterior stairway and platform on the north side of the building was not built as proposed. Instead, the existing extension was built in its present dimensions, and a brick stairway was erected to a door in the east side of the extension. Thirdly, the warehouse section was shortened and squared off at its western end. Fourthly, the number of windows and doors in the walls of the second story was changed. No sooner had the new second story been built that the flat brick roof began to leak, and it was found necessary to cover it with an elastic compound. On nugust 31, I84O, the colonial government ordered the build- ing inspector to prepare a plan for the conversion of the second story CUSTOMHOUSE AND POST OFFICE, now CHRISTIANSTED LIBRARY HABS No. VI-4 (Page 6) residence into customs offices, and the building inspector's recom- mendations were carried out by Architect Albert Lovmand between November 1840 and May 1842. The exterior brick stairway on the east side of the extension was torn down and replaced by the existing brick stairway on the north side of the building and extension. Wooden sunshades were erected on the east, south, and west sides of the building, and a wooden picket fence was erected between the up- right posts which supported the sunshades. The roof was repaired and ceiling boards were removed in the second story so that roof leaks could be more readily detected. Glass windows were installed in all second floor windows which faced east and south. The new offices in the second floor were papered. A masonry partition was erected in the ground floor to create an additional room. The one story remainder of the warehouse attached to the west end of the customs house was torn down. All outbuildings — kitchen, servants' quarters, etc. — were also torn down, since they were no longer necessary now that the second story was to be used for offices; and the brick walls and wooden fences which had formerly enclosed the customs house yard were torn down. In virtually all essentials, therefore, the customs house had emerged as the free-standing, two story masonry building seen today in Christiansted. In 1832, the building was appraised at $3,840 Danish West Indies currency. as early as 1844, the flat brick roof was found to be leaking. The contract for the new roof was awarded to Carpenter G. Meyer on March 11, 1847, who completed the job by June 17. Subsequently, Meyer also redecorated the interior fo the second floor, which had been damaged by incoming water. The subsequent history of the customs house is largely one of routine maintenance and minor alterations. However, in 1902-03, the flat brick roof was leaking so badly that a corrugated metal roof was laid over it. This alteration made it necessary to raise the height of the parapet several feet in order to conceal the new roof. USE Throughout the history of the building, the ground floor rooms have been used as offices, residence, and storerooms by the Book- keeper of the Danish West India and Guinea Company, the Customs Depart- ment of the colonial government (including the ship's broker, the treasurer, the inspector, and the postal service), the Building Inspec- tor of the colonial government, various offices of the Virgin Islands Government after 1917, and more recently by the St. Croix Museum, Inc., for exhibit purposes. CUSTOMHOUSE AND POST OFFICE, now CHRISTIANSTED LIBRARY HABS No. VI-4 (Page 7) The second story was used as a residence until 1841, at which time it was converted into offices for the Customs Department. In 1878 the post office was moved from the first to the second floor, where it occupied most of the offices until 1926. In the following year, the second floor was converted to use as a public library. Prepared by Osmund R. Overby, Architect National Park Service August 1965 PART II. ARCHITECTURAL INFOPJvIATION A. General Statement 1. Architectural character: The construction and the plan are typical of many of the buildings in the island. The heavy masonry walls with characteristic arcades, bands and keystones are repeated here. The plan has a gallery and arcades in front of the main rooms. Of note is the treatment of the parapet wall, both old and recent sec- tions, with broken bands at ascending levels over the main door, second floor. The first floor contains 18th century masonry walls; the building, however, was enlarged and considerably changed during the early 19th century and in its present form has the architectural char- acter of the later period. It contains many of the finishes and details from the early 19th century rebuilding. 2. Condition of fabric: The general exterior condition of the building Is fair. The masonry except for some flaking of stucco is sound. The roof leaks and has caused some deterioration along the rear interior wall. The floor boards are badly infested with termites and in need of repair. B. Description of Exterior 1. Over-all dimensions: Two stories; rectangle with gallery and grand staircase--40' x 60' (plus grand staircase). 2. Foundations: The foundation is assumed to be of the same material and construction as the walls. 3. Wall construction: The walls and piers are of masonry rubble and brick, l'-6" to 2'-0" thick. The system of support from front to rear consists of the staircase with two arched passageways, the forward three-bay arcade sup- porting the second-floor gallery, the seven-bay main arcade supporting the front wall, the rear wall of the arcade supporting the interior masonry wall on the second floor and the rear and end walls. All the walls of the main rectangle and forward gallery have a continuous parapet wall. Eight feet out from the sides and rear v/all are wooden columns every eight feet, two stories CUSTOMHOUSE AND POST OFFICE, now CHRISTIANSTED LIBRARY HABS Mo. VI-4 (Page 8) high supporting a wooden and metal shed roof. A picket fence encloses the space between the posts. 4. Openings: The entire front elevation of the building has corresponding openings on the second floor to the seven bays of the arcade. On the remaining sides there is no regularity to the placement of openings. a. Doors: On the first floor there are three doors under the gallery. The second floor has its main door at the top of the grand staircase and a door-window in its rear wall. All doors have two-ply shutters, with the main door (second floor) having in addition a two-wing paneled door. The door-window has a metal grill in the lower half. b. Windows and shutters: The windows on the second-floor gallery are window-doors with exterior shutters, wooden railings, and interior paneled shutters over the bot- tom third. The remainder of the windows have their sill at the level of the chair rail of the wainscoting. On the first floor the windows are unglased with the exception of two casements in the rear wall; one open- ing is barred. On the second floor, openings in the east room have casement windows, some in the gallery area have casement windows, as do those on the north side of the west room. 5. Roof: The building has two relatively flat roof systems. The original one is beneath the present one, being no higher at its ridge than the level of the intermediate band on the parapet. The present sheet-metal roof is higher, and the parapet wall was raised to its existing level when the second roof was added. The original roof is brick on wooden sheathing on wooden purlins on 14" beams, the underside of which can be seen on the second floor. Both roofs were built with the ridge line across the northern edge (front) of the main rectangular section. The maj'or part of the roof slopes to the rear, where there are six drains. The pitch of the roof is 1:7. The shed roof on three sides is sheet metal over a wooden frame. On the east side two gutters lead to a single leader which empties into the underground cistern to the east of the building. 6. Masonry bands and decorations: Two continuous horizontal bands circle the building at the second-floor level, and follow the slope of the main stair on the exterior sides of the brick stair rails. The arches on the ground floor have capital bands at the spring point and projecting plaster keystones connected to the lower or the two bands mentioned above. All second-story window openings have CUSTOMHOUSE AND POST OFFICE, now CHRISTIANSTED LIBRARY HABS No. VI-4 (Page 9) a projecting keystone except for the window on the north- east side of the projecting outer section which has a triangular pediment. A molded cornice divides the wall area from the parapet. The parapet wall has two hori- zontal hands. The bays of the building are articulated by projecting pilasters above the cornice. The central bay of the parapet of the projecting center section is slightly "stepped" up. C. Description of Interior 1. Floor plan; first floor: Behind the double arcade, the floor is divided into four rooms. The second floor has four rooms, one in the gallery area and three across the remainder. 2. Stairways: The exterior grand staircase is flared with stuccoed solid masonry balustrades and brick steps. It ranges from 22' wide at the bottom to 6' at the landing. The balustrades are terminated by masonry drums supporting lanterns. An interior v/ooden stairs is located against the west end wall. At one time an exterior stair led down from the door-window in the rear wall. 3. Floors: The floors are all of wood; the landing to the stairs is concrete over brick; the area under the arcade is brick pavement. 4. Wall and ceiling finish: The interior masonry walls are plastered and have a wooden wainscoting on the second floor. The wooden walls are sheathing on exposed studs, or plasterboard. The exterior walls are stuccoed and painted yellow. All ceilings consist of exposed beams and sheathing. 5. Openings: On the second floor there are three openings in the wall between the front or gallery room and the middle rear one: a window and two doorways with deep molded frames. On the first floor all doors and doorways have been heavily modified. 6. Trim: Interior trim consists of the molded window and door frames, the wainscoting, and moldings around the beaded ceiling beams. 7. Hardware: The hardware includes examples of wrought iron and brass fixtures; bars, sliding bolts, hasps, hooks, strap hinges, HL hinges, brass door latches, circle pulls and spring locks. Of note is a bar arrange- ment for securing shutters with metal straps fitted into slots in the window frame. CUSTOIffiOUSE AND POST OFFICE, now CmSTIANSTED LIBRARY HABS No. VI-4 (Page 10) 8. Lighting: The building is wired for electricity. The two lanterns flanking the staircase are wrought iron, and wired; otherwise, the building has modern electrical fixtures. D. Site 1. Orientation and general setting: The Library faces north; it is a rectangle with the middle three bays on the north or front side brought forward one bay to form a gallery. A large flared masonry stairway leads down from the second floor central door of this gallery. The Arcade extends under the gallery and is one-bay deep along the entire front side, forming a double arcade at the central three bays. The building is situated in the center of the Christiansted National Historic Site in Hamilton Jackson Park. In front of it is the harbor and parking lot, to the west is Hospital Street, to the south is the Park and to the east, Fort Christiansvaern. 2. Enclosures: The wooden picket fence that encircles the building on three sides encloses a small area to the east over the cistern. 3. Landscaping: On either side of the staircase there are small grassed plots with small palms. Prepared by Frederik C. Gjessing, Architect and J. Michael Everett, Architect National Park Service July 1960. Customhouse & Post Office, now Christiansted Library Christiansted photo: Jack E. Boucher, 1960 Fort Christiansvaern Christiansted photo: Jack E. Boucher, 1960 FORT CHRISTIANSVAERN Christiansted St. Croix Virgin Islands HISTORIC AMERICAN BUILDINGS SURVEY FORT CHRISTIANSVAERN HABS NO. VI-5 Address: At waterfront at foot of Company Street, Christiansted National Historic, Site", Christiansted, St. Croix, Virgin Islands. Present Owner: Government of the Virgin Islands. Present Occupant: National park Service. Present Use: Historic site, open to visitors. Statement of The plan of the fort is typical of a four-pointed Significance: citadel of the 17th and early 19th centuries. It consists of four one-story curtain walls built around a near square court, projecting bastions in each corner and a ravelin protecting the entry to the fort. In spite of many additions and alter- ations, Fort Christiansvaern still preserves its original layout and much of its 18th century character. Of the five preserved Danish forts in the West Indies and the Western Hemisphere it is the most characteristic of its period. Al- though much of the present fabric of the struc- ture dates from its founding period, its original finishes and building fittings have been largely obliterated by continuous maintenance and repair. It contains, hovrever, some 18th century and a great deal of early 19th century building details, hardware, fittings, etc. PART I. HISTORICAL INFORMATION A. Physical History 1. Original and subsequent owners: Danish West India and Guinea Company, 1738-54 Danish State, 1754-1917 Virgin Islands Insular Government, 1917 to present. 2. Date of erection: Begun in 1738. Main features of existing fort proper completed in 1749. West yard between west and north bastions added in 1836. Second story of east bastion added in 1836. Stable yard east of fort proper added in 1837. FORT CHRIST LVNSVAERN HABS No. VI-5 (Page 2) 3. Architect: None. For contributors to the design, see under notes. 4. Builders, suppliers: Danish West India Company and Danish State. See notes below. 5. Notes on original construction' AS early as 1726 officials of the royally chartered Danish West India and Guinea Company proposed the pur- chase of the abandoned French Island of St. Croix for the expansion of their colony in St. Thomas and St. John. The purchase was ratified in June 1733 and the official transfer took place in June of 1735. The first Danish colonizing expedition lead by Frederik Moth landed at the site of the former settlement of Bassin the present Christiansted, in September of 1734. The construction of a temporary fortification was immediately begun on the remains of the earlier French fort. It consisted of an earthwork 100 x 116 feet with several small structures along one side for housing the Governor of the new colony, Frederik Moth and the garrison of the fort. The fortification was considered only as an interim shelter until a per- manent fort could be built. The size and location of the permanent fort was to be decided upon by Governor Moth and the military engineers sent out by the Danish West India and Guinea Company. Three in succession arrived in St. Croix and died shortly afterwards. Lt. Stahlmann 1734> Lt. Warneck, 1735-36 and Engineer Carl August Stall, 1737-38. None of them reached agree- ment with the Governor on the plans for the permanent fortifications of Christiansted harbor, and the more ambitious plans of the Governor were not approved by the company directors in Copenhagen. Consequently, following the severe hurricane of August 29-30, 1738 that partly demolished the temporary fort, Governor Moth started the construction with company slaves and soldiers of the existing structure within the confines of the earlier earthwork. The work was carried on -under him and his successors until 1749 when the fort proper in general outline had arrived at its present form. In an evaluation report to the Danish West India and Guinea Company from 1743 the FORT CHRISTIANSVAERN ffiuBS No. VI-5 (Page 3) fort is valued at 43>555-2-3 Rigsdaler. It consisted of a northeast curtain facing the harbor supporting a water battery, two one-story curtains supporting gundecks toward the northwest and southeast respectively, a two-story curtain with a masonry gallery and Italian stairway towards the central court, towards the south- west four one-story bastions in the salient angles sup- porting gun decks and a ravelin on the landside in front of the southwest curtain. During part of the construction period Johan Wilhelm Schopen served as construction supervisor. Schopen among other activities acted as a land surveyor for the infant colony. He appears to have had some taowledge or training of archi- tecture and construction and his private residence of a slightly later date became the nucleus of the present Government House in Christiansted. 6. Notes on alterations and additions The fort has been in constant use since its erection and there have been numerous changes and alterations. Most have been minor and have not affected the appear- ance greatly. The changes with their dates of com- pletion are listed below: 1755-67 Flat brick roof on southeast curtain replaced by mansard roof. 1774-78 Mansard roof of southeast curtain damaged in September 1, 1772 hurricane, is replaced by flat brick roof. Interior of curtain refinished. Northeast curtain raised and a vaulted powder magazine constructed below the gun deck. In- terior of west bastion altered from beam sup- ported gun deck to vault-supported deck. Building Inspector, Julius von Rohr prepared the drawings and supervised the construction. 1780 Interior of south bastion altered from beam supports of gun deck to brick vault supports. 1786-87 A one-story privy of vaulted masonry construction was built in corner of north bastion and water battery to replace privy destroyed in hurricane of August 27, 1785." 1795 Wooden cannon shed built in ravelin against south wall. FORT CHRISTIANSVAERN HABS No. VI-5 (Page 4) 1802-7 Privy enlarged, towards the north. Kitchen chimney constructed over west bastion. In- terior of southwest curtain refinished. 1817-21 Brick pavements and floors were relayed in the courtyard and the bastions. The two existing staircases from the courtyard to the battery atop the northeast curtain were constructed. Several doors and shut- ters in the southwest curtain were replaced. The courtyard side of the southeast curtain was rebuilt. 1826 The vaulting of the ravelin cell was replaced by the existing flat roof. In 1835 the fort was inspected by Governor General von Scholten; Building Inspector Hinkelberg subsequently submitted estimates for several additions to fort, which were approved by von Scholten and executed the following years. 1835 The present prison yard on the west side of the fort was added. 1836 Present second story built atop of bastion, and shed added on court side of southeast curtain. 1837 The stable yard on east side of fort was constructed on existing south 70" of stable and the carriage house, -.vest side of gate, dates from this year. The existing wrought iron scrolls over the sally port and the entrance gate to the powder magazine were installed. 1839 The existing fanlights and jalousie windows of the southwest curtain of second floor were installed. I84I Stable extended 25' to the north and a wash - house (now demolished) was built over the water at edge of beach. Stable extended 21' to the north. FORT CHRISTIANSVAERN HABS No. VI-5 (Page 5) I846 Wooden cannon shed in ravelin yard was re- placed by a brick shed with sheet metal roof- ing. 1857 The flat brick roof of the tv/o-story south- west curtain was replaced by a hipped roof with sheet metal roofing. July The fort became Police Station and Courthouse. 15,1878 Sections of the fort were still retained for use by the military. 1903 Door was cut in outer wall of northwest cur- tain to make access to prison yard from court- yard of fort. 1911 The flat brick roof on beams of the north- west curtain was partially replaced by a reinforced concrete slab and beams. About 1935 The washhouse- in stableyard was demolished and the paneling and wallpapering of the second story rooms of the southwest curtain were removed. B. Historical Events Connected with Structure Fort Christiansvaern during the early years of its existence housed the governor, the government offices, the Lutheran ministers and place of worship, the court rooms as well as the military of St. Croix. As the colony prospered, the various religious and government functions moved to more appropriate quarters. The fort, remained however the military headquarters of the island up until 1878 when it became the police headquarters. Although the most note- Y/orthy event to take place on the site of the fort was the official transfer of the island from French to Danish hands prior to the construction of the existing building, the fort has played a continuous and important role in the daily life of the Danish colony and, after 1917, the U. S. possession. C. Important Old Views Fort Christiansvaern, Christiansted, St. Croix, by Jens Friis, 174-1 • In the Rigsarkivet, Copenhagen, Denmark. FORT CHRISTIANSVAERN HABS No. VI-5 (Page 6) Plan of Christiansted's Wharf Area by Peter Lotharius Oxholm, 1779. In Kortsamling 337C, Plan Ilia, Rigs- arkivet, Copenhagen, Denmark. Plan of Fort Christiansvaern, Christiansted, St. Croix, by Peter L. Oxholm, 1779. In Kortsamling 337C, Plan Illb, Rigsarkivet, Copenhagen, Denmark. Facade and Cross Section of Fort Christiansvaern, Christiansted, St. Croix, by Peter L. Oxholm, 1779. In Kortsamling 337C, Plan IIIc, Rigsarkivet, Copenhagen, Denmark. Drawing of Wharf Area, Christiansted, St. Croix, by an un- knovm artist, c. 1800. In the Handels-og SpTartsmuseet paa Kronborg, Helsingpr, Denmark. Drawing of Fort Christiansvaern, Christiansted, St. Croix, by P. Beck, July 1816. In Kortsamling 337 A, Vestindien I, No. 7, Rigsarkivet, Copenhagen, Denmark. Painting, Christiansted, St. Croix, by H. P. Thorsp'e, c. 1825. In the Handels-og S0fartsmuseet paa Kronborg, Helsinger, Denmark. Lithograph, Christiansted, St. Croix, of original drawing by Theodore C. Sabroe, 1835. In the Handels-of SpTartsmuseet paa Kronborg, Helsingjar, Denmark. Plan of Fort Christiansvaern, Christiansted, St. Croix, by First Lieutenant V.Giellerup and Second Lieutenant V. Friis, March I836. In the Rigsarkivet, Copenhagen, Denmark. Drawing, Christiansted, St. Croix, by A. May from the original by W. Melbye, c. 1855. In the Handels-og Spi?artsmuseet paa Kronborg, Helsingjor, Denmark. Lithograph, Christiansted, St. Croix, from the original drawing by P. Seidelin, c. i860. In the Royal Library, Copenhagen, Denmark. D. Sources of Information Unpublished 01sen, Herbert E. Historic Structures Report, Part I, Fort Christiansvaern, Christiansted, St. Croix, U. S. Virgin FORT CHRISTIANSVAERN HABS No. VI-5 (Page 7) Islands, Christiansted National Historic Site. Unpublished report prepared by the National Park Service, Department of the Interior, August I960. This illustrated report of 168 pages was based on a detailed study of the original records of the Colonial Government of the former Danish West Indies on deposit in the Danish and United States National Archives, and is the most complete treatment of the history of Fort Christiansvaern available. Published sources Arce, Manuel Gutierrez. La Colonizacion Danesa En Las Islas Virgenes, Estudio-Historico-Jurido• Seville: Escuela de Estudios Hispano-Americanos De La Universidad de Sevilla, 1945. Brp'nsted, Johannes (ed.). Vore C-amle Tropekolonier. Vol. II: Dansk Vestindien. Copenhagen: Westermann, 1953- Hvass, Tyge. Dansk Vestindien. Vol. VI: Aeldre Nordisk .-irchitektur. (l.lcgens Clcmmerissn (ed.). Copenhagen: C. A. Reitzels Boghandel, 1925. Larsen, Kay. Dansk Vestindien, 1666-1917. Copenhagen: C. A. Reitzels Boghandel, 1928. Westergaard, Waldemar. The Danish West Indies under Company Rule (1671-1754), With a Supplementary Chapter, 1755-1917. Mew York: The Macmillan Company, 1917. PART II. ARCHITECTURAL INFORMATION A. General Statement 1. Architectural character: The fort is a small 18th century citadel comprised of four bastions at the salient angles, a ravelin, vaulted chambers, cells, a magazine, a dungeon, the old Commandants quarters on the second floor of the southwest curtain, and a horse yard to the southeast. It was begun in 1738 on an older fort site following the Danish colonization in 1734• The Fort proper varies only in detail from the standard pattern of smaller 18th century fortifications. There are several 19th century additions, but the general character of the fort is preserved. FORT CHRISTIANSVAERN HABS No. VI-5 (Page 8) 2. Condition of fabric: In general, the fabric is in fair condition. Some wooden floors and rafters are infested with termites and sections of the masonry walls are scaled and pitted. The wooden frames of the windows and doors are in poor condition. B. Description of Exterior 1. Over-all dimensions: One and two stories; built on three levels. Brick and rubble masonry. Measures 210 by 220' including horse yard. 2. Foundations: A dungeon under the west bastion is the only area of the Fort with a floor level below ground. Exposed foundations are found along the southeast side and the south side of the ravelin. Masonry gutters line the walls on three sides of the main court, one side of the ravelin and in front of the stables. 3. Wall construction: The Fort is a rubble and brick . masonry structure, presumably with earth and rubble fill between outer shell walls. The bastions and the northeast or sea battery have brick vaults supporting the gun deck. The remaining masonry roofs are supported on timber. The brick used is a hard yellow brick of superior quality covered inside and out with 1/2" to 1" of stucco except in the vaulted chambers below the bastions which have been whitewahsed, and in the interior rooms which have been plastered. The thick- ness of the walla varies from 1' to 16' but in general measures 2' to 3'. The stucco has deteriorated and is scaled and pitted in many places. Exterior cornices and other masonry decorations are formed in brick and stuccoed. The interior walls and partitions are of masonry generally, but some are wooden; half timber walls occur in the southwest wing. 4. Openings: a. Doorways and doors: The entrance gates to the ravelin and to the horse yard are flanked by quoined masonry posts. The exterior face of the sally port is pedimented and flanked by fluted pilasters, and the interior face has a surround of projecting quoins. All other door openings are plain. Except for the entrance gates all FORT CHRISTIANSVAERN HABS No. VI-5 (Page 9) openings are spanned by brick arches. There are five types of exterior doors: Heavy lapped plank construction with sheet metal coverings (with or without lookout opening). Two layers of boards nailed together crosswise. Board doors with style and rail braces simu- lating paneling. True panel door (with or without jalousies in top panel). wooden grill doors. b. Windows} shutters and battlements: Window openings on the ravelin side of the southwest curtain have band surrounds. On the court side of the curtain the piers between the windows have capital and base moldings. All other window openings are plain. They are headed by flat brick arches and on the second floor of court side of southwest curtain by round arches over glazed fanlights. Following types of windows occur: Glazed casement sash. Glazed double-hung windows, six lights over six Double casement jalousies Wrought iron bars and grills All windows; except those towards the courtyard; are furnished with shutters of a double plank or paneled construction. In addition to window openings there are gun slits and vent openings with iron bars and in some cases metal doors. In the stable area window openings towards the exterior are equipped with wooden grills. FORT CHRISTIANSVAERN HABS No. vi-5 (Page 10) The bastions have parapet battlements and the ravelin and prison yard have tapered gun slits. 5. Roof: a. Shape, covering: The roof over the bastions, the sea battery, and the two side wings is a flat brick deck with parapet walls on both the out-facing side and the inner side. The second story southwest curtain has a hipped roof of crimped and corrugated sheet metal on wooden sheathing and wooden trusses. Corrugated metal roofing also occur, over the guard house, two shed roofs on the southeast wing, the wooden shed in the horse yard, and the parts of the stable where the original flat brick roof has been replaced. The carriage house in the horse yard has a flat brick roof. b. Cornice and eaves: The southwest wing has a brick and stuccoed cornice on all four sides. All the parapet walls have an overhanging lip on the outside face. The corrugated metal roofs have only a slight overhang. The southwest or main wing has gutters at both ends with metal leaders which are encased in the masonry walls below the deck floor. On the east bastion the gutter is behind the parapet and the leader enters the floor in a like manner. 6. Chimneys: There is one chimney on the west bastion over the kitchen. The hearth below is a brick platform with a small oven. C. Description of Interior 1. Floor plans: The fort is entered from the land side by a wooden gate through the ravelin. The ravelin is a walled triangular court with a guard house at the southwest point and a gun shed along the south side between the guard house and the south bastion. The sally port is located in the center of the southwest curtain of the fort and leads from the ravelin into the square central court. The two-story southwest curtain has a gallery on the court side on both floors. The first fh or has two FORT CHRISTIANSVAERN HABS No. VI-5 (Page 11) rooms on either side of the sally port. The second floor has five rooms in a row. The second floor is reached by an exterior staircase in the court. The southeast curtain has a cistern room and four con- nected rooms in a row. A passage between the cistern room and the south bastion gives access to the horse yard. The northeast curtain contains a powder magazine of three-by-three vaulted bays. Two exterior staircases lead from the court to the gundeck on top of the curtain. The northwest curtain contains a kitchen, a cistern and five cells (access from the courtyard). The four bastions have vaulted chambers on the ground floor. Access to the dungeon in the west bastion is by a flight of steps and a trap door. The east bas- tion has a second story on the level of the gundeck. A latrine extends north from the west bastion to the water's edge—access is through a passage between the northeast curtain and the north bastion. A walled prison yard is located outside the northwest curtain between and the west and the north bastions—access is through the kitchen in the northwest curtain. The horse yard on the southeast side of the fort is entered directly through a cast iron gate on the land side or through the fort by two flights of steps and a passageway in the southeast curtain. The horse yard contains arcaded stables along the south side of the yard, a carriage house west of the gate and a modern wooden shed built against the retaining wall of the fort. 2. Stairways: Two large stairways in the court flank the sallyport and lead to the gallery above, A secondary stair is to the northwest of these steps. Two flights lead from the main court to the sea battery on the north and east corners of the court. Two flights of steps lead down to the horse yard from the terrace outside of the southeast wing. All steps are of brick with stuccoed balustrades. 3. Flooring: On the first floor most areas are paved with brick or with stone blocks roughly one foot square. The landings on the main stairways and the gallery have 9" by 9" hard clay tile. In many of the rooms the brick FORT CHRISTIANSVAERN HABS No. VI-5 (Page 12] has been covered with concrete. Some rooms have vrooden floors presumably over older masonry finishes. The southeast wing now has wooden flooring, as do most of the rooms in the southwest wing. The northv/est wing has concrete floors. The powder magazine has a pegged wooden floor over masonry. The second floor east bas- tion has concrete over brick. The north and west bas- tion chambers and the dungeon all have concrete floors. The south bastion chamber has a vrooden floor over brick. The stable has a brick pavement; the carriage house has a wooden floor. The second floor of the southwest curtain has wooden flooring. In the ravelin the shed has a concrete floor and the guardhouse a wooden one. A. Wall and ceiling finish: All masonry walls are stuccoed or plastered and painted. The wooden partitions are painted. Ceilings in the southeast, southwest and northwest wings are either bricks on purlins and beams, or wooden sheathing on beams. The rooms within the bastions and sea battery have brick vaulting. The stable aid the building in the horse yard have brick on beams. The second floor rooms have wooden tray or flat hung wooden ceilings. 5. Doors: The interior doors are of two main types: Double board construction. Paneled doors (with or without jalousies in top panel). 6. Trim: Decorative trim is limited to the second floor of the southwest curtain and to the first floor of the southeast curtain. In the southwest curtain the trim consists of vrooden cornices and ceiling trim. The southeast curtain has wooden ceiling trim, baseboards; the north room has paneled v/ainscoating. 7. Hardware: The hardware appears to date from all periods of the building's use. It consists of wrought iron H, L, strap and scroll hinges, hasps, hooks, spring and drop latches and sliding surface bolts. There are wooden and metal box locks with brass and porcelain door handles and spring locks. The gateway to the ravelin has a wrought iron scroll incorporating the insignia of Frederik VI and the date 1836. A second wrought iron scroll occurs over the piers in front FORT CblRISTIANSVAERN HABS No. VI-5 (Page 13) of the powder magazine. Other items are a wrought iron lantern bracket above the sally port, cast iron bell hood and brackets in ravelin, a cast iron gate in the horse yard. Remains of a wrought iron bell pull and hanger, iron grills, window bars, spikes, etc. 8. Lighting: The fort is wired for electricity. 9. Heating: None D. Site: The Fort is a series of one-room-deep wings grouped in the shape of a small square citadel, with bastions at the salient angles, a ravelin with sally port on the land side and a horse yard with stables on the southeast. The main axis runs north-northeast with the ravelin guard house pointing south-southwest. The Fort is constructed in three levels and located in the northeast corner of the Virgin Islands National Historic Site (since 1961, Christiansted National Historic Site) on the waterfront. From bastion to bastion it measures 130' by 130'. Its north- east side faces the harbor v/hich it controls in connection with the batteries on Protestant Cay and Fort Lousia Augusta on the point northeast of Christiansted. The fort is free- standing on the water's edge on the east side of the Hamilton Jackson Park at the waterfront of Christiansted harbor. Prepared by Frederik C. Gjessing,. Architect National Park Service July 1960. Fort Christiansvaem Christiansted 1741 elevation of sally port from the Rigsarkivet, Copenhagen Fort Christiansvaem Christiansted 1836 plan from the Rigsarkivet, Copenhagen Fort Christiansvaern Christians ted photo: Jack E. Boucher, 1960 "Steeple Building" Christiansted photo: Frederik C. Gjessing, 1956 "STEEPLE BUILDING," formerly THE LUTHERAN CHURCH OF THE LORD OF ZEBAOTH Christiansted St. Croix Virgin Islands HISTORIC AMERICAN BUILDINGS SURVEY ''STEEPLE BUILDING/'formerly THE LUTHERAN CHURCH OF THE LORD OF ZEBAOTH HABS No. VI-1 Address: Company Street between Church and Hospital Streets, Christiansted National Historic Site, Christiansted, St. Croix, Virgin Islands. Present Ovmer: United States Government. Present Occupant: United States National park Service. present Use: Historic building and museum within the Christiansted National Historic Site. Statement of This church v/as built by the government of the Significance: Danish West Indies and Guinea Company. As the building that housed the established church of the colony, it v/as an integral part of the archi- tecture of the Danish colonial venture, and it is an interesting example of Lutheran archi- tecture in the 18th century. PHYSICAL HISTORY A. Original and Subsequent Owners: Government of the Danish West Indies, 1750-1917: Lutheran Church, 1750-1831 Military Bakery and Storehouse, 1841-1909 Sunday School and Town Hall, 1909-1916 United States Government, 1917—: Hospital ward, 1916, 1925 Town Hall and School, 1925-1954 Historic site and museum, 1964— B. Date of Erection: 1750-53- C. The Steeple Building v/as restored by the National Park Service 1961-63, Frederik C. Gjessing, National Park Service architect. The building v/as restored to its appearance in 1800, but not with its original church furnishings. Some of the important original furnishings, in- cluding the altar, baptismal font, and a chandelier (nov/ reassembled as the base of a lectern), are in the present Lutheran Church in Christiansted. The history of the Steeple Building v/as intensively studied for the restoration by the National Park Service by Frederik C. Gjessing, Architect, and STEEPLE BUILDING, formerly THE LUTHERAN CHURCH OF THE LORD OF ZEBAOTH HABS No. VI-1 (Page 2) Herbert Olsen, Historian. Their findings, based on ex- haustive study of both the available documents and of the fabric of the building, are presented in three sep- arate reports: Gjessing, Frederik C ; National Park Service architect. Preliminary Survey (Architectural Data) Restoration of the Steeple Building. March, 1951; Olsen, Herbert; NPS Historian. Historic Structures Report, Part I, Administrative Data and Historical Data, Steeple Building. March 1959; Gjessing, Frederik C ; NPS Architect. Historic Building Report (Architectural Data—Part II) Preliminary to the Restoration of the Steeple Building. January, 1960. Copies of these reports are at the Virgin Islands National Park Headquarters, St. Thomas, and the Eastern Office, Division of Design and Construction, National Park Service, 143 South Third Street, Philadelphia. The follov/ing general description and summary of the physical history are quoted from the third of these reports by Archi- tect Gjessing, pp. 1-7: GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF THE STEEPLE BUILDING "The Steeple Building is an important landmark for its historical association. It contains the remains of the former Lutheran, Church of Cur Lord of Zebaoth, the first church to be erected by the Danes after their colonization of St. Croix in 1734. As a building it is a good and unusual representative of Danish colonial architecture. "It is located in the tovm of Christiansted, St. Croix, one block from the waterfront v/ithin the area defined in 1952 as the Virgin Islands National Historic Site. The steeple, that has given the building its popular name, is a conspicuous landmark and is listed as an identifying feature for Christiansted harbor both on older and contemporary charts. "The building and its yard occupies half a city block. It is bounded by Hospital and Church Streets to the east and west re- spectively, and faces Company Street to the north. It is a one story rectangular masonry structure, measuring 28 x 88 feet, with a four tiered steeple built against the approximate center of the Company Street face of the building. The Steeple measures 15 x 18 at ground level and is 77 feet high. STEEPLE BUILDING, formerly THE LUTHERAN CHURCH OF THE LORD OF ZEBAOTH KiBS Ho. VI-1 (Page 3) "The body of the building is of rubble masonry construction with brick lining of doors and windows. The walls are plastered. It is roofed with corrugated iron on wood trusses and has a furred wood ceiling. The two lower tiers of the steeple are stuccoed brick masonry. The third tier is an octagonal drum with exterior walls of wood sheathing and shingles on a heavy timber frame and roofed with copper sheets and wood sheathing. The fourth tier is an open octagonal wood pavilion supporting a shingled wood cupola crowned by a wrought iron spire and weather vane. "The yard to the south of the building is fenced by a brick and rubble masonry wall from 7 to 10 feet high. The yard is 66 feet deep and 97 feet wide along its south side. A concrete toilet built in 1933 and a one story L shaped wood building constructed in 1917 are located in the south east and south-west corner of the yard respectively. SUMMARY OF PHYSICAL HISTORY "The Steeple Building was constructed by the Danish West India and Guinea Company, a royally chartered monopoly. It was built as a Lutheran church. The designer, if any was employed, is unknown. "Construction was started in the summer of 1750 and by December 29, 1751, we have the earliest and most complete general description of the building. "'The Lutheran church, masonry from the ground up and 75' long by 26' wide, is standing under construction (as previously announced) the masonry work is finished, with the roof, windows and doors, except for the wall cornice and steps and plastering, and interior carpentry and masonry work and decoration. Assessed in the present condition Rdls 3009'. "By 1753 the structure was sufficiently complete to put it to use and on Kay 27, 1953, it was consecrated as a Lutheran church by Pastor Rudolph B. Frick of St. Thomas as 'The Church of Our Lord of Zebaoth.' Its location on the site of the present Steeple Build- ing is confirmed by our first pictorial presentation of the church the I. M. Beck map of Christiansted printed in 1754. "AS far as can be determined the church in all essentials retained its appearance as built for the following 40 years. It withstood the hurricanes of August 31, 1772, and of August 25, 1785, without damages. There wore numerous repairs and slight altera- tions particularly during the 1780's -which affected its looks with- out altering its form or general outlines. The most important were STEEPLE BUILDING, formerly THE LUTHERAN CHURCH OF THE LORD OF ZEBAOTH HABS No. VI-1 (Page 4) the addition of an organ loft in 1783 and a wood picket fence later replaced by a brick fence in 1786. In a drawing of this period (approx. 1765) by Von Rohr, it appears as a plain one story structure with a hipped roof. Its modest size and appearance is further testified to by the adverse comments of the colonial govern- ment in 1777, describing it as having 'no appearance of a church and cannot stand comparison with the worst village church at home.' A proposal for enlargement was subsequently approved in 1779 and then abandoned due to lack of funds. "In October 1793 construction was begun on the steeple and in 1796 it was finished. Although we do not have contemporary plans and drawings, the description of its construction clearly imply a steeple in all essentials similar to the existing one. During the same period the roof of the church was repaired, new doors and win- dows installed, and pillars were constructed for the fence around the church. "By 1818 the church in its new form was in a poor structural condition and repairs were made both to the steeple and the build- ing proper. They did not, however result in setting the building in proper shape, for by the late 1820's the building was in such poor condition that the congregation deemed it advisable to accept the donation of the Dutch Reformed Church building and by 1931 the con- gregation ceased to worship in the Steeple Building. In 1834 it was stripped of its furnishings, which were installed in their new church; and by 1838 the title to the building was passed to the Danish state. "Following the transfer of ownership a proposal was made for the conversion of the church to a military bakery and storehouse. In 1841 and 1842 the proposal was carried out. The roof was removed and the walls towards Hospital Street and the churchyard, respec- tively, were torn down. The remaining walls were lowered approximately 2 feet and 6 inches. The building was extended 11 feet to the north, and a new south wall was built toward the churchyard, for approximately half the length of the building. The interior was divided by two transverse walls and a new roof was laid over the entire building, window openings were changed, and repairs were made to the steeple: A stable, a carriage house and a woodshed was built in the former churchyard, and at an unknown date a brick oven was added. The yard was divided in two sections by a fence. The documentary sources avail- able to us for the following 60 years are limited in information. A number of repairs are recorded, but judging from internal evidence, they did not alter the general appearance of the building. "In 19C9 the Steeple building was converted into a Sunday school and community hall. The conversion necessitated the re- construction of the west half of the south wall, and several STEEPLE BUILDING, formerly THE LUTHERAN CHURCH OF THE LORD OF ZEBAOTH hLABS Mo. VI-1 (Page 5) changes to the building in the yard. The existing roof over the north half was extended to cover the entire building, and the present windows, doors and floor and ceiling were installed. The use of the Sunday school ended in 1916. During the subsequent uses of the Steeple building as a hospital (1916-25), Community Hall (1925-33), and finally school (1933-54), a cistern was added, toilets for the hospital (which later were torn down), replacement of wood beams in the Steeple with concrete beams, etc. In the yard the bakery oven and stable were removed and the existing L- shaped building was later constructed in 1917, and later still, while serving as a school, the existing concrete toilet in the North corner of the yard was added. "It is evident from the documentary material presented in the two earlier reports, that the Steeple Building during its life span has had four main stages of development. Between each stage, there have been transition periods, and details such as windows, churchyard fence, etc. modified the appearance of the building within each stage. In general, however, it can be said that the form and the looks of the building remained the same within each period. The first stage lasted from the time of its completion to 1793, when the Steeple was added. The second stage lasted from 1796, the completion year of the Steeple, to 1834, when the church was stripped of its furnishings. The third stage started in 1842 when the body of the building was extended to the north and the walls and roof were lowered, and lasted until about 1909, when the Steeple building entered its fourth stage and received its present appearance. Except for the last stage, the appearance of the building has to be pieced together from accounts, bills, partial descriptions, and internal evidence. We do not have any detailed and specific description of the building, and the pictorial representations we do have without any exception only show the Steeple Building as part of a general view. Plans of the building, although mentioned in accounts, have not been located. "It is also evident that the only part of the building that dates back beyond the third stage and the period the Steeple Build- ing served as a church, is the steeple and the southwest and north- west walls, respectively, and possibly part of the masonry fence around the churchyard." Prepared by Osmund R. Overby, Architect National Park Service August 1965. 11 CATHARINES ERG," GOVERNOR ftiNS HENDRIK BERG HOUSE (now DENMARK HILL) Charlotte Amalia St. Thomas Virgin Islands HISTORIC AMERICAN BUILDINGS SURVEY ''CATHARINEBERG,'' HABS No. VI-12 G/OVERNOR HANS HENRIK BERG HOUSE (now Denmark Hill) Address: Estate No. 8, Store Nordside Quarter, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands. Present Owner: The West India Company. Present Occupant: Consul-General Arne M. Aabye. Present Use: Residence for the Danish Consul-General. Statement of This is a large, country house, built on a hill Significance: overlooking Charlotte Amalie in the early nine- teenth century. Built as the home of Governor Berg, it has always been considered one of the finest houses in the Virgin Islands. PART I. HISTORICAL INFORMATION A. Physical History: 1. Original and subsequent owners: Information from the St. Thomas Land Records prepared by Miss Enid M. Baa, Chief, Bureau of Libraries and Ivruseums, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands. The original owner, Hans Henrik Berg, acquired the planta- tion 2 Feb. 1826. Berg died 16 April 1862. Catharineberg sold by the executors of his estate to William C. Carpenter 24 March I864. Measurements of the property and a plan of the area are recorded with the bill of sale. [St. Thomas Land Records, Protocol CO, folio 122-23, No. 2]. In I864 the government of the Danish West Indies proposed buying Berg's house. The old government house was badly in need of replacement, and Berg's house was offered to the Government for $12,000. The Colonial Council dis- cussed the Government's proposal on 18 April 1864 and 23 April 1864 but rejected it in favor of demolishing the old Government House and building a new one on the old site. [Proceedings of the Colonial Council of St. Thomas and St. John, on microfilm in the St. Thomas Public Library.] Catharineberg was sold at Auction 27 December 1875 to Jose Bregaro and Enrique Bregaro for $9,000 [U. S. National Archives, Virgin Islands Records, Records "CAThtiRINEBERG,'' GOVERNOR HANS HENRIK BERG HOUSE (now DENMARK HILL) HABS Mo. VI-12 (Page 2) Group 55, St. Thomas Office of the Building Inspector and Surveyor, Surveyor's work papers 1820-1911 St. Thomas Estates.] Catharineberg later became the property of Jean Joseph Clitus Delinois who bequeathed it to Louis Delinois 23 March 1898 [St. Thomas Land Records, protocol CCC folio 51, No. 46.] By deed of gift the property passed from Louis Auguste Jean Joseph P. Delinois and Christine Anna Marie Delinois to the Roman Catholic Congregation of St. Thomas on 11 September 1913. [St. Thomas Land Records, Protocol YYY, folio 118, No. 404.] The Estate, however, was returned to Widow Anna Marie Delinois 13 November 1916, the circumstances explained in the deed: "By Deed of Gift dated Sept. 11, 1913 and recorded on the 8th of Dec. 1913, the late Consul-General Louis A.J.J.P. Delinois and his wife Mrs. Anna Marie Delinois, nee Clendinen, gave to the Roman Catholic Congregation of St. Thomas their property "Catherine- berg" No. 8 Store Nordside Quarter, St. Thomas, for the purpose of making said property a hospital as it is said in the deed, 'for persons of all faiths in conformity with rules to be made by said con- gregation and these to be sanctioned by the Danish government.' "It is further remarked in the deed that the two bonds for a total of Frcs. 27,000 which were re- corded on the property did not in any manner con- cern the congregation, but would be paid by Mr. Delinois as soon as convenient. "The above mentioned deed was hoy/ever not given over to the congregation till after the death of Mr. Delinois which took place on the 21 of March 1916. "At a special meeting of the Board of Church-Wardens and the Parish Priest held on the 13th of July 1916 the matter was discussed, but although all expressed their high appreciation of the excellent intention "CATHiiRINEBERG," GOVERNOR HANS HENRIK BERG HOUSE (now DENMARK HILL) HilBS No. VI-12 (Page 3) of the donors yet under their present financial conditions they were obliged to adopt unanimously the following Resolution: "That in view of the heavy cost to establish a hospital, to equip it, maintain it, and in- stall the necessary staff of doctors, nurses, servants, etc., with salaries, the Roman Catholic Congregation regrets that it is not in a position to accept the gift and carry out the conditions stipulated by the donors. 'In accordance with this resolution we the under- signed Fr. James 'Moris Parish Priest of the Reman Catholic Congregation of-. St. Thomas, and J. E. Kuntz, Carl A. Thraen, Edw. A. Moron, and G. F. French, Church-Wardens of said Congregation do hereby give back and hand over to Widow Mrs. anna Marie Delinois the property Catharineberg No. 8, Store Nordside Kvarter, St. Thomas with grounds, buildings and everything legally belonging to same and it shall hereafter follow and belong to her with the same rights and obligations with which it was transferred to the Congregation.' [St. Thomas Land Records, Protocol KKX, folio 174, NO. 205.]. The property passed from Widow Anna Marie Delinois (L. H. Van Aller, attorney for Mrs. Delinois) to the West India Company, the present owners, by deed of 24 December 1917 recorded 7 January 1918. [St. Thomas Land Records, Protocol LLL, folio 148, No. 47.] Estate Catharineberg contained originally 170 acres. The estate adjoined the platted limits of Charlotte Amalie, and as the tovm grew the estate r/as subdivided for residential purposes. This was done to a large extent by Berg himself from the 1840's on, dividing the outer areas of his holdings into at least eight separate parcels. [U. S. National Archives, Virgin Islands Records, Records Group 55, St. Thomas Office of the Building Inspector and Surveyor, Surveyor's Work Papers 1820-1911 St. Thomas Estates.] "CATH&RINEBSRG," GOVERNOR HANS HENRIK BERG HOUSE (now DENMARK HILL) HABS Mo. VI-12 (Page 4) 2. Date of erection: c. 1830. The house is dated 1830 by T. Hvass and about I83O by K. Larsen, Dansk Vestindien, 1666-1917, probably follow- ing Hvass, but no authority is cited for these dates. The earliest clearly documented mention of the house comes from Hans Birch Dahlerup's visit in 1841 re- corded in his memoirs. Dahlerup described it as a "splendid villa on a site of unequaled beauty on a hill close outside the city." Unfortunately, the house is just outside the area recorded on the Hingel- berg Map of Charlotte Amalie of 1836-37. Tax Records suggest that the house v/as standing in 1831 and occupied by Berg and his family. This being an estate rather than town property Berg did not pay a building tax, but instead a tax on cultivated acreage. Both city and country dwellers, however, paid a head tax, and the Matricula (roll or register) for I83I lists under the heading "owner and family," two men, one woman, one son. The Matricula also enumerates, under the heading of ;overseer and family," two men and one woman, and under the heading of "colored," three house servants, six outdoor servants and four tax-free servants. Only four of the 170 acres were cultivated and they are listed as a garden. This sounds like the kind of domestic establishment an official in Berg's position would have. The Matricula for I828 shows no one living at Catharine- berg. It seems likely, therefore, that the house was built for Berg between the time he bought the estate in 1826, and 1831. B. Historical Events Connected with the Structure Hans Henrik Berg (1788/9-1862) was a prominent public official and land owner in the Danish West Indies for 50 years. He left Denmark in 1812 to go to the West Indies. Settling in St. Thomas, he advanced quickly in public office as town clerk (Byskriver), Chief Constable and Government Councillor (Politimester og Regeringsraad) and titular councillor of State (Etatsraad). Berg was governor in 1862. Catharine- berg was used only as a residence by Berg, the estate was not farmed. He owned two plantations on St. John, however, which were under cultivation, Annaberg and Lemsterbay, and in 1831 owned a total of 392 slaves on these. "CATHAJIINEBKRG," GOVERNOR HANS HENRIK BERG HOUSE (now DENMARK HILL) HABS No. VI-12 (Page 5) Catharineberg, if nothing else, was a tax dodge for Berg. Plantations were taxed on cultivated acreage while hold- ings within the town limits of Charlotte Amalie were taxed on the area of the buildings. In 1831 since there were only- four acres under cultivation at Catharineberg the ground tax was only one rigsdaler 32 shilling, while the house would have been taxed about 40 rigsdaler if it had been within the town limits instead of just beyond them. C. Sources of Information Primary Sources: Information from St. Thomas Land Records prepared by Miss Enid M. Baa, Chief, Bureau of Libraries and Museums, St. Thomas. U. S. National Archives, Virgin Islands Records, Records Group 55: 1. St. Thomas Office of the Building Inspector and Surveyor, Surveyor's work papers, 1820-1911, St. Thomas Estates. 2. St. Thomas and St. John Tax Commission, Matriculae (rolls or registers) 1828, 1831. An early view of the house appears in a colored print of St. Thomas by Ralph Stennet at the St. Thomas Public Library. The view is dedicated to ''Governor'1 Peter von Scholten, so it presumably dates from his governorship 1827-48. Stennet is known to have been in St. Thomas in 1833 when he advertised to paint portraits in the Sanct Thomae Tidende 7 August 1833 (microfilm copy at the St. Thomas Public Library). Published Sources: Br0ndsted, Johannes, editor, Vore Gamle Tropekolonier, Vol. II: Dansk Vestindien (Copenhagen: Westermarm, 1953); PP. 384, 421; modern watercolor view by Andersen p. 371. "CATHARINEBERG," GOVERNOR HANS HENRIK BERG HOUSE (now DENMARK HILL) HABS Mo. VI-12 (Page 6) Dahlerup, Hans Birch, Mit Livs Begivenheder, 2 vols., Vol. I: 1790-1814, Vol. II: 1815-1848 (Copenhagen: Gyldendalske Boghandel, Nordisk Forlag, 1909), vol. II, p. 272. Hvass, Tyge, Dansk Vestindien, Vol. VI of AEldre Nordisk Architektur, Mogens Clemmens-rtv, editor (Copenhagen: C. A. Reitzel, 1925), p. 11, p. 22, fig. 35. Larsen, Kay, Dansk Vestindien. 1666-1917 (Copenhagen: C. A. Reitzels Forlag, 1928), pp. 44-45. Larsen, Kay, Guverneirer, Residenter, Kommandanter og Chefer, Samt Enkelte Andre Fremtraedende oersoner i de Tidligere Danske Tropekolonier (Copenhagen: Arthur Jensens Forlag, 1940), pp. 397, 231. Prepared by Osmund R. Overby, Architect National Park Service August 1965 PART II. ARCHITECTURAL INFORMATION A. General Statement 1. Architectural merit: A fine example of West Indies Danish Colonial house. 2. Condition of fabric: In good condition. Maintained as the residence of the Danish Consul and local head of the Danish West Indian Company, Ltd. B. Description of Exterior 1. Number of stories; over-all dimensions, layout,shape: Two stories; masonry bearing walls} approximately 70' x 50'; "U" shaped layout. 2. Foundations: Brick and stone rubble masonry with lime plaster patched with cement. All painted. Masonry base projecting about 2" beyond wall base and extend- ing about l'-6" above grade, painted a russet red. 3. Wall construction: Same as above with openings and cor- ners in brick. String course at window sill and porch door level separates main and ground floors. (Main floor interior partitions are wooden frame.) Plastered walls are painted white, except in court formed by wings, "CATHARINEBERG," GOVERNOR HANS HENRIK BERG HOUSE (now DENMARK HILL) HABS No. VI-12 (Page 7) where walls are the same color as masonry base. All masonry bands, cornices, etc., are painted white through- out. 4. Openings: There is a passageway through ground-floor level on main or transverse axis. This leads from ser- vice area (inside the "U")> under the main rooms and porch to terrace on east side. Partly vaulted in brick (under the porch and steps) with the flat soffit else- where . 5. Openings; doors, doorways, windows, and shutters: Main entrance is now on the north side of the north wing on the second floor (main floor). Formerly it was on the second floor (main floor) of the east wing on the east side. This entrance is now used as the entrance from the garden terrace. ' Service entrance on the first floor of west side of east wing from the court. A passage through the center of the east wing connects the former main entrance and the service entrance as mentioned above. Main floor: Main doorway and all windov/s on the east and south sides extend to floor line with exterior shutters. All shutters are double plank, vertical outside, horizontal inside; painted white inside (usually exposed) and green outside. Several shutters have portholes of metal frame with glass for viewing the weather during storms. The windoYre (on the east and the south sides) are double- hung, 12 lights each leaf, wooden sash in wooden frame, with about 50$ of original glass. The north three win- dows on east side have solid bottom half of double-hung window. Southern two of these have air conditioning units flush with exterior. The court side of the east wing has three double doors with three panels to each leaf. Bottom panel is solid with adjustable louvers in upper two panels. The open- ings have yrooden rails set in frame between doors and shutters. Y/indows towards the court are on the v/est sides of the north and south wings and have the same head height as other windows but with a sill height of 36". In place of doors are glazed sash that have two- panel double adjustable louvered sash opening in. Ground floor: •. Doors are generally double doors of "CATftJUNEBERG," GOVERNOR HANS HENRIK BERG HOUSE (now DENMARK HILL) HABS No. VI-12 (Page 8) double plank construction horizontal inside and ver- tical outside. Doors under former main entrance have two-panel frame in place of horizontal boarding on the inside. All windows are square with outside shutters as described above and jalousie Interior shutters with adjustable louvers. All openings in masonry are splayed inward. 6. Roof: a. Shape, covering: Behind parapet is metal roof- ing (mostly corrugated) sloped inward to service court where cast iron downspout drains to cisterns. b. Cornice: Large elaborately molded cornice with parapet above which has plain projecting panels corresponding to openings bays. The four outside corners hold acroteriae. Two smaller acroteriae at inside corners formed by portico and house. No eaves, dormers or chimneys. On southwest corner is a rotating vent stack. C. Description of Interior 1. Floor plan: The building has three "wings" forming a "U". The east wing, the bottom of the "U", is seven bays by two bays wide with an addition to the north of one bay for the full width of the wing. The south and north wings are both two bays wide by three bays long. The south wing is about 6' longer than the north wing. Main floor: Living room, center parlor, large bedroom and bath (in eighth bay) across east side. Hall runs entire length of house on west side of above rooms and separates two west wings: bedroom now used as extra room south and bedroom with alcove and bath north. All rooms are large with high ceilings. Ground floor: Dining room northeast (used to be a stable); northwest, laundry, maid's room, bath; south- west, kitchen; south, unused guest room and bath.Stor- age elsewhere on ground floor. Thick maonsry interior partitions with round or segmental arched openings. "CATrLuRINEBERG,'1 GOVERNOR HANS HENRIK BERG HOUSE (now DENMuTK HILL) HABS No. VI-12 (Page 9) 2. Stairways: Onne v/ooden frame stairway on each end of hall. 3. Flooring: Brick, large slate tiles or square marble on ground floor. 8" pine or oak boards on main floors. 4. Wall and ceiling finish: Ground floor painted, lime plas- ter over masonry. Exposed structural joists on ceiling. Main floor: Wall bo.ard; v/ooden plank and wooden paneled ceilings. 5. Doors: All wooden; single leaf, eight panel or French glazed upper 10 lights with solid panel below. 6. Trim: Baseboards, cornice boards, frame around ceiling are all molded. All openings have molded wooden trim with square ornamental corners. 7. Hardware: Wrought iron pintles, hinges, storm bars, brackets, hooks and eyes and holdbacks for the exterior shutters. Inside, assorted painted, ceramic, and brass hardware. 8. Lighting: Converted from gas to electric. Ornate chan- delier in parlor. 9. Heating: No facilities. D. Site 1. General setting and orientation: Portico faces east. Just south of the crown of Denmark Hill the site slopes off steeply on three sides and has a view of Charlotte Amalie. 2. Enclosures: Low masonry curbs around planting areas about the house. Retaining walls divide the hill into terraces. They are constructed of brick and rubble masonry, plastered and painted pink. 3- Outbuildings: Two small recent one-car garages flanking transverse axis west of house. Servants'' quarters and cook house to northwest, with details similar to but simpler than those of the house; three rooms. Small wooden frame open-air pavilion east of house over part of terrace; it has Tuscan columns as does the por- "CATHiiRINEBERG,'' GOVERNOR HANS HFNRIK BERG HOUSE (now DENMARK HILL) HABS No. VI-12 (Page 10) tico of the main house. To the east of the house under the terrace built into the hill is a large single room with masonry walls, round brick vault, large, heavy double plank French doors, and a slit window on each side of the door. Use unknown, probably for storage or animals. Prepared by Frederik C. Gjessing, Architect and Philip E. Gardner, Architect National Park Service Summer 1958 "Catherineberg", Gov. Hans Hendrik Berg House (now Denmark Hill) Charlotte Amalie photo: Don Toschi, 1958 "Catherineberg", Gov. Hans Hendrik Berg House (now Denmark Hill) Charlotte Amalie photocopy of measured drawing by the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, 1961 FREDERIKSFORT, "BLUEBEARD'S CASTLE" Charlotte Amalie St. Thomas Virgin Islands HISTORIC AMERICAN BUILDINGS SURVEY FREDERIKSFORT, "BLUEBEARD'S CASTLE'1 HaBS No. VI-16 Address: Bluebeard's Hill. At various times also called: Smitsbjerg (Smith's Hill), Taarnbjerget (the Tower Hill), Frederiksberg Estate, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands. Present Owner Antilles Enterprises, Inc. and Occupant: Present Use: Part of hotel: gift shop on ground floor, guest rooms on upper floors. Statement of One of the earliest fortifications on St. Thomas, Significance: "Bluebeard's Castle" is a good example of a simple 17th century fortified tov/er. It has been a fa- vorite object with tourists since the 19th century, and the subject of many local legends to this day. PART I. HISTORICAL INFORMATION A. Physical History 1. Original and subsequent owners: Built by the govern- ment of the Danish West Indies and Guinea Company and used as a fort until 1735. The Danish West Indies and Guinea Company was taken over by the Danish Crown in 1754, and the tov/er remained government property until 1818, when the title passed to G. L. Einem. The title then passed from Einem to Cornelious Lemme on 19 September 1818; to David Christian Levy on 20 October 1819; owned by F. Simmons in 1819; from Peter von Vlierden to Alexander R. Liggett on 24 December 1855; to Vincent Piccioni on 5 February 1856; from Piccioni by M. Lucchetti to Mary Elizabeth Daly Smith and Mary F. Brewer; to Eduardo Moron and Nannete Moron on 9 January 1889 for $6000; to Mrs. Jane Dow Nies on 15 January 1916 for $6,400; to her husband, James B. Nies, on 30 August 1920 by inheritance; to the Trustees of James B. Nies on 15 July 1925; to the U.S. Government on 1 March 1933 for $60,000; to the present owners on June 23, 1954. 2. Date of erection: 1688-89. 3. Notes on original plan and construction of building: The tov/er was originally supplied with 11 cannons FREDERIKSFOPAT, "BLUEBEARD'S CASTLE" EABS No. VI-16 (Page 2) (seven four-pounders and four six-pounders). It was conceived both as reinforcement to Christiansfort which stands at the foot of the hill, and also as a stronghold that could withstand seige. [Breusted, Kay Larsen]. 4. Notes on known alterations and additions: The tower served as a fort until 1735. After it was sold into private hands, in 1818, it served as a picturesque focal point to the various estate build- ings which were grouped around it, being used at times as a guest house. An inscription above the entrance to the tower reads "Tour de Barve Bleu—Restauree par V. Piccioni 1859" (Bluebeard's Tower—Restored by V. Piccioni 1859). The interior of the tower has been completely remodeled for later uses, but the masonry walls of the building appear to have survived without alteration. B. Historical Events and Persons Associated with Building: At least one authority [Jens Larsen] would associate Frederiksfort with the first Danish expedition to St. Thomas under Governor Erik Nielsen Smidt in 1665-66. However, the most recent and authoritative book, based on extensive documentary studies [Brondsted] says that the tower was begun in 1688 because of the unsettled condi- tions brought on by the widespread war in Europe and the recent occupation of Crab Island and Anguilla by the Spanish. Any relic from Smidt's time was incorporated into Christiansfort more likely than Frederiksfort. All authorities listed below agree that the tower was finished in 1689. Christopher Heins was governor during the period of construction 1688-89. In the mid-nineteenth century the tower was known as Luchetti's Castle [Walloe] for the prominent St. Thoman M. Luchetti v/ho was a nephew of Piccioni, ovmer of Frederiksfort from 1856-65, and a business associate of his. When the United States acquired the tower in 1933 it was part of a program to develop the tourist trade on the Island proposed by the first civilian governor after the 1917 sale of the Virgin Islands to the U. S., Paul M. Pearson, and the buildings on the estate were converted to a hotel. Operators of the hotel during the period it was owned by the Government were: Dmitri V. Starrossalsky, Bernard Krug, Leonard Brewer, and Ruben Barnett. President Franklin Roosevelt visited the Hotel on 7 July 1934. With FREDERIKSFORT, "BLUEBEARD'S CASTLE" HABS No. VI-16 (Page 3) the new government administration in 1952, it was decided to dispose of the venture, and the sale to a private orga- nization was effected in 1954. The buildings surrounding the tower have been considerably augmented since the es- tate was converted to a hotel. The popular name for the tower, "Bluebeard's Castle," stems from the nineteenth century when many stories, none sub- stantiated, were told connecting the pirate, Bluebeard, with the tower. A number of these legends have been expanded, sritten, and published, chiefly by Charles Edwin Taylor and J. Antonio Jarvis. C. Sources of Information 1. Unpublished sources: Ottley, Aubrey C , "Bluebeard's Tower, A Brief History, 1666-1954," typed, four-page paper in the St. Thomas Public Library. Based on standard published sources, but also contains a list of ovmers taken from St. Thomas Land Records in Christiansfort, and details on the operation of the hotel. Second prize in an essay contest to mark the grand opening of Bluebeard's Hotel 17 December 1954. 2. Published sources: Aspinwall, Algernon E., The Pocket Guide to the West Indies (London: Duckworth and Company, Revised edi- tion 1914), P- 371. First edition of 1907 gives much less information. BrAndsted, Johannes (ed.). Vore Gamle Tronekolonier, Vol. II: Dansk Vestindien. Copenhagen: Westermann, 1953. Map, "A Description of the Harbour of St. Thomas" by John Jenifer, c. 1687, which shows other landmarks but f does not indicate Frederiksfort which was presumbaly not yet built, reproduced p. 65. Map, "Nieuwe en aldererste Afteekenung van tEyland St. Thomas," drawn May 11, 1718 by Simon de Bon Maison at the request of the Reformed Minister, Isaak Groenewold, published 1719 by Gerard van Keulen in Amsterdam, facing p. 114, shows the tower in place. Illustrated in a modern drawing by Mads Stage, p. 77. History p. 79. FREDERIKSFORT, "BLUEBEARD'S CASTLE" HABS Wo. VI-10 (Page k) Hvass, Tyge. Dansk Vestindien, Vol. VI of Aeldre Wordisk Architektur, (Mogens Clemmensen, Editor). Copenhagen: C. A. Reitzel, 1925. History p. 10. Photograph p. 20, fig. 26; measured drawings--plans, elevations, sections,--Plate 1. Larsen, Kay. Dansk Vestindien, 1666-1917- Copenhagen: C. A. Reitzels Forlag, 1928. pp. 15, 18, 52-3- Larsen, Jens. Virgin Islands Story. Philadelphia: Muhlenberg Press, 1950. pp. 8-9• McGuire, James William. Geographical Dictionary of the Virgin Islands of the~ljnited States. (Washington: Department of Commerce, U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey, Government Printing Office, 1925- PP• 37-79- Moron, Guido S. "Bluebeard's Castle," St. Thomas Daily News, 17 December 195^- First prize in an essay con- test to mark the grand opening of Bluebeard's Hotel 17 December 195^. Contains the most complete account of the chain of title. Taylor, Charles Edwin;. Leaflets, from the Danish West Indies. London: the Author, 1888'. p. b. Wallpe, August (ed.). The St. Thomas Alamanack and Commercial Advertiser for l88l. St. Thomas: August Wallb'e, 1881. pp. 70-71- Prepared by Osmund R. Overby, Architect Wational Park Service July 1965. PART II. ARCHITECTURAL INFORMATION A. General Statement 1. Architectural merit: One of the earliest fortifica- tions on St. Thomas. 2. Condition of fabric: Good. Wow maintained as hotel guest rooms. Some exterior masonry left unpointed to retain "old" character. FREDERIKSFORT, "BLUEBEARD'S CASTLE" HABS No. VI-16 (rage 5) B. Description of Exterior 1. Dimensions: Three stories, masonry wall bearing, . shortened torus section, 27' X 35'> 39' high. 2. Foundations: Rubble stone masonry. 3- Walls: Brick and stone rubble masonry with lime mor- tar and some lime plaster. Patched with cement. Brick around openings. k. Openings: a. Doorways and doors: Single doorway at grade, masonry arch with recent cement pilasters and small caps either jamb. Brick arch partly covered over with recent cement plaster. Two-leaf wrought iron openwork gate and arch grill. b. Windows: First floor, one window on east side; second and third floors, eight windows each, two in every side. Openings are wooden framed, and have exterior wooden shutters (vertical plank outside, two-frame panel inside; painted light blue); interior single-panel wooden frame shutters with metal screening and ad- justable louvers. Deep reveals in masonry walls are plastered. Wooden soffit. 5. Roof: a. Shape, covering: Flat masonry on wooden beams; top layer of flat brick stretchers laid in herringbone pattern. Recent layer of Fiberglas waterproofing. Low peak wooden sliding trap door over stair well opening in roof. b. Cornice and eaves: Hone. Three-foot parapet of brick and stone rubble plastered except at lU narrow embrasures, which are lined with exposed brick. c. Dormers and chimneys: None. Wooden flagpole set in recess in masonry above third level window sills. FREDERIKSFORT, "BLUEBEARD'S CASTLE" HABS No. VI-l6 (Page 6) B. Description of Interior 1. Floor plan: Approximately oval in general shape or a shortened section of a torus. Long north and south sides flat. East and west sides curved with corners rounded. Grade level: Vestibule and storeroom. Second and third levels one guest room (called "honeymoon suites") each. North wall at th^e levels has storage and toilet facilities bail, in. Closets on either side, shower and water closet with lava- tory in the two window reveals, and a vanity in center. 2. Stairways: Recent metal circular stair in one "corner" with a round well from base to roof. 3. Flooring: Concrete at grade level. Second and third floors have 8" square grey concrete tiles. k. Wall finish: Smooth plaster painted grey. Ceiling: Timber beams with edges beaded and smooth plaster painted white between. 5. Doorways and doors: All interior doors are modern. (Flush wooden doors with mahogany veneer). Wooden frame doorways. 6. Trim: None; except on storage and bath walls. Wooden moldings around doors; narrow wooden pilasters with bases and caps. Wooden lintel across top. All painted white with mahogany veneer background. 7. Hardware: Wrought iron strap hinges, pintles, hooks, eyes, "S" shutter holdbacks and brackets. Brass latches on interior shutters. Aluminum door hardware. 8. Lighting: Electric throughout. 9- Heating: No facilities. D. Site 1. General setting: Entrance faces west. Castle is visual center of large spread-out hotel complex with one-story wing connecting tower with two- story "flankers." No circulation connection. FREDERIKSFORT, "BLUEBEARD'S CASTLE" HABS Wo. VI-16 (Page 7) These and several other buildings in hotel complex built by W. P. A. in 1930's. 2. Enclosures: None pertinent. 3- Walks: Several concrete walks lead from "castle" to other buildings and main automobile entry op- posite doorway on west. h. Landscaping: Hotel area well landscaped with a great variety of tropical plants and trees. Well tended. Prepared by Frederik C. Gjessing, Architect and Philip E. Gardner, Architect National Park Service Summer 1958 Frederiksfort,"Bluebeard's Castle" Charlotte Amalie Government House Charlotte Amalie photo: Don Toschi, 1958 photo: Don Toschi, 1958 GOVERNMENT HOUSE Charlotte Amalie St. Thomas Virgin Islands HISTORIC AMERICAN BUILDINGS SURVEY GOVEPuNMENT HOUSE HHBS NO. VI-17 Mdress: Kongens Gade 21-22, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands. Present Qvmer: Government of the Virgin Islands. Present Occupant: Governor of the Virgin Islands. Present Use: Governor's office and residence. Statement of This large, imposing building has been the center Significance: of official life in St. Thomas since its erection in the mid 1860's. PART I. HISTORICAL INFORMATION A. Physical History 1. Original and subsequent owners: The Government House was built originally by the Colonial Council of St. Thomas and St. John, the governing body of the island under the Danish rule, as a residence for the Vice Governor of the Danish Wist Indies who served also as President of the Colonial Council of St. Thomas and St. John. The Vice Governor resided in Charlotte Amalie, the Governor resided in St. Croix. The build- ing continued to serve its original use after transfer of the Islands to the United States in 1917, and be- came the residence of the Governor under United States administration in the 1930's. 2. Date of erection: Discussions on replacing the exist- ing Government House of 1819, which was in dilapidated condition, began in the Colonial Council in the Spring of I864. The first proposal, to buy the late Vice- Governor Berg's house, "Catharineberg" (now called Denmark Hill, see HABS write-up No. VI-12), was re- jected after discussion. The earliest known formal proposal (to build the present building on the site of the earlier one) by the Commission for the construction of the new Government House is dated 10 June 1864. Work on the new building began in August 1864 and the cornerstone laid in a ceremony on 8 April 1865. 'Work was interrupted with the death of the original con- tractor, Richard Bright, in 1866, and the building was finally completed and in use September 1867. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 2) 3. Architect: The Colonial Council took direct control of the building of the new Government house, appoint- ing special commissions to various purposes as indi- cated in the documents below. The commission report of 10 June 1864 was signed by four men: "Strandgaard, Geo Tucker, R. Bright, Otto Marstrand." There are several references to an unlocated drawing by Otto Marstrand who apparently was chiefly responsible for the design. He was not a professional architect, but a merchant and a member of the Council. Strandgaard, a Major in the Danish army, was Building Inspector for St. Thomas and St. John. He was fequently consulted in the course of construction, and should probably be credited with the detailed execution of Marstrand's plan. Richard Bright was a master carpenter ("tommer- mester"), and took the original contract for the con- struction of the building. Richard Bright died in July or August 1866 at which point the roof was on and the floors in, but finishing and interior work uncompleted. Bright was replaced by George Nunes and Co. 4. Builder, suppliers, etc.: See documents in primary sources of Information. 5. Notes on original plan and construction of building: See documents in Primary sources of information. 6. Notes on known alterations and additions: The interior of the building has been heavily remodeled as noted in the description. Among other items (mentioned in the documents on the construction of the house) that have been lost in this remodeling are the murals painted in the entrance vestibule by the itinerant Danish painter Frederick Visby. B. Sources of Information Primary sources 1. The following transcriptions are extracted from Pro- ceedings of the Colonial Council of St. Thomas and St. John. The Proceedings were published in Danish, with an official English translation in parallel columns for the convenience of those members of the Council who did net understand Danish. The following quotes are from the official English translation. The Proceedings were consulted on microfilm in the St. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 3) Thomas Public Library. a. Draft of the Colonial Budget. . . for the Financial Year from the 1st of April, 1864, to the 31st of March, 1865: H. For Buildings and Uncertain Expenses. . . $26,700 2. 18 April 1864:. . . 3rd member for St. Thomas [PHILIPS] . . . At the same time he spoke against the purchase of Vice- Governor Berg's late residence for a Government House and requested the right of having his ob- jections entered in full in the protocol. 1st member for St. Thomas [RQSENSTAND] replied that that the honorable last speaker as member of the Com- mittee had already had sufficient opportunity to ex- press himself in the report: ;7ith regard to his re- marks concerning the miserable condition of the house and road leading to it, he did not think them well founded, but would not deny that it is very flatter- ing to the Vice-Governor to learn that the public was so interested in him not to see him reside so far from them, but that there were certain moments when having terminated the work he would be wishfull to retire from public life for a while. . . . 4th member for St. Thomas [BENNERS]. . .The idea of purchasing Vice-Governor Berg's house he also dis- approved and recommended to build a Government House on the same spot '//here the present one now stands. The amount of $12,000 demanded for Vice-Governor Berg's house was not at all high as the building is strong and solid and was not built for less than the tripple of that amount, and when the requisite additional build- ing was made, the community would have a handsome and not too far distant Government House for about $19,000, which would save a great deal as the erection of a new Government House by persons able to judge was esti- mated to cost between $20,000 and $30,000, besides •which it v/ould be much against his 'wish to have his GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 4) private dwelling in the same buildings as the public offices. Herewith the first discussion was closed. 3. 21 April 1864:. . The Chairman produced the different amendments ad IIC. viz: d) from the majority of the Committee, proposing the erection of a Government House on the same site where the present building is standing. The Vice-Governor . . . . With regard to the pro- posed purchase of late Vice-Governor Berg's house, he proved that this would be a clear profit to the com- munity of $13000 in comparison to the other proposal, viz: the pulling down of the present Government House and the erecting of a new one, which work be- sides, would last at least two years, during which time he had to rent a suitable private dwelling in town. Finally he mentioned that in the West Indies the Governors generally reside outside of town. 3rd Member for St. Thomas (PHILIPS) stuck to his former opinion with regard to the purchase of Governor Berg's house, and remarked that the surrounding ground was now partly divided in small parcels, which by degrees would be filled with small negro houses, which would not embellish it situation. Besides, he referred to his former expressions, and decidedly disrecommended the purchase. 1st Member of St. Thomas (ROSENSTAND) defended his vote of minority in the committee report, and showed that the community in buying Vice-Governor Berg's house, with little difficulty and proportionally small expenses would acquire a Government house with even a better road leading to it than that leading to the present Government House, and that, if the road was found to be too narrow it could easily be made broader with little expense. This proposal he considered the cheapest and besides the quickest manner to procure the President a suitable dwelling, and worthy of recommendation. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 5) 2nd Member for St. Thomas (LUCCHETTl) would not absolutely insist upon the President's residing in town, but would only disrecommend the purchase of the beforementioned house on account of its unfit position for a Government House; he did not think it difficult to find another more suitable residence, either in the town itself, or in the vicinity of the same, and remarked, that in case the purchase of this house should be resolved upon it would be quite con- trary to the general wish of the population. The final discussion closed and the amendments were put to a vote. d) the amendment of the majority of the committee concerning the purchase of late Vice-Governor Berg's property was adopted by 5 votes against 2. The 2nd member for St. Thomas abstained from voting on the last subject. The 1st member for St. Thomas (RGSENSTAND)- re- served his vote cf minority to be inserted in the final Report on the proposed purchase of late Vice- Governor Berg's property. 4. 23 April 1864:. . . 1. The Council's Report on the Budget for St. Thomas and St. John's for the financial year 1864-65. 2. The Report from the minority in the Committee concerning the Government House. Ad H. Buildings and other uncertain expenses:— In the item of $26,700 is included $8000, as ex- plained in the motives as part of the purchase sum $12,000 for the purchase of the late Vice-Governor Berg's property, which it is proposed to buy as a residence for the Vice-Governor, $7000 for a required additional building and $2500 for furniture. To this arrangement the Government has given its preference rather than to what was earlier contemplated, namely to erect a three story building for the Vice-Governor on the site where the old and delapidated Government House now stands; in addition to which the Government has contemplated that the spot where the last mentioned building stands, could be later used for the erection thereon of a building to contain office for the Vice- GOVEPaNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 6) Governor, an assembly room for the Colonial Council, and rooms for offices for all the employes under the administration, which would then in reality become the Government House, while the abovementioned house to be purchased would become the Vice-Governor's dwelling. On this subject, two different opinions have arisen in the Council, viz: a majority of 5 and a minority of 2 members. The majority must remark that the purchase sum asked for the property of the late Vice-Governor Berg, is more than the real value of the property; in as much as the building is old and in certain respects dilipated, and the 10 acres land,—some say only 7—both in consequence of its situation and nature, is not of much value, be- sides which, it does not afford a convenient place for additional buildings. The expenses to be incurred for arranging a commodious private dwelling for the Vice- Governor, wouldj in the opinion of the majority, far exceed what has been estimated according to the state- ment afforded, which, in as far as can be seen is not based on any precise and detailed examination. But independent of the foregoing the majority must declare itself opposed to the purchase of the property for the use intended. It would naturally become the place, •wherein the Vice-Governor on festive occasions, would give dinner parties and balls, for which latter purpose the house does not afford a saloon sufficiently large, nor can such a one be brought about in consequence of the arrangement of the building. But besides this there is this important circumstance to be noticed, the house is situated too remote for that part of the public, who are to participate in the festivities. From the Main Street in town, which must be regarded as the starting point for the plurality, the road leading to the house is about an English mile, running along a slope of the hill; this road is so narrow that two carriages cannot pass each other; and it can only be enlargened by cut- ting in the hill at considerable outlay, as also the keeping it in repair would entail no inconsiderable ex- pense . Even the surroundings of the place are every- thing but agreeable. On the one side the land is parcelled out in small lots, on which small and not embellishing houses will be erected, and on the other side a stock estate to which the road is the same GOVERNMENT HOUSE PIABS No. VI-17 (Page 7) that is to be used to and from the property in question. The other alternative, namely the erection of a Government House on the site where the present one exists, is preferable. On this spot a handsome, airy and commodious duelling can be erected which can at the same time be used for the festivities consequent on the official charge of the Vice-Governor; the access to the spot is easy for the public, even for those going thither on foot. The majority has not contem- plated that the public offices should be contained in that building, but for the erection of a building for public offices, &c. more convenient and easier of access to the public, the Government has at its disposal the necessary land, on the spot called the "Old Com- mandant-hill," which spot has earlier been selected for such a building. With regard to the expenses attendant on either of the two places, the majority considers it doubtful, whether they would, every thing maturely considered, be much greater if the proposal of the majority is adopted, but even if such should be the case, it is opined, it ought not to be rejected, for the tax-payers would rather submit to an increased ex- pense towards the realisation of the proposal of the majority, than to see the plan for the purchase of Berg's property carried through. Our daily intercourse with the public, has convinced us that our views on the matter is general. In consequence of the foregoing the majority would beg to submit that the purchase of the late Vice- Governor Berg's house as a dwelling for the Vice- Governor be not carried into effect, but that a new and suitable dwelling for him be erected on the site where the old Goverrmient House now stands. The minority (ROSENSTAND AND MOURIER) must remark: In order to procure the Vice-Governor a suitable dwelling as also room for the Presidency's offices and an assembly hall for the Colonial Council, the majority of the Council has proposed that the present Government House be pulled down and on its site a three story build- ing be erected, which is estimated to cost $25000. The Government has proposed the purchase of the late Vice-Governor Berg house with adjoining land, which can GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS Mo. VI-17 (Page 8) be obtained for the sura of $12000, but which will re- quire an additional building estimated to cost $7000, in all $19000, an arrangement that will render the present Government House available for offices, &c. The plan of the majority will cost $6000, plus the Government House, more, than the plan of the Govern- ment. The new Government House proposed by the majority will not be ready for use at an earlier period than two years, during which time the Vice-Governor must be furnished with a temporary dwelling, whereas the house proposed by the Government can be immediately occupied. It can not be agreeable to the Vice-Governor to have his dwelling in the same building which will also contain public rooms. These rooms would be in the building proposed by the majority, necessarily be- come more confined that it, as proposed by the Govern- ment, the whole of the present Government House is disposable for that purpose. Nov/, therefore, the house recommended by the Government, being close to the town with a good carriage road leading to it, even better than to the present Government House, the minority can not judge otherwise, than that the plan of the Government is in every respect preferable to that proposed by the majority. 5. Colonial Council Budget Committee Report on the Draft of the Colonial Budget. . . for the Financial Year 1865-66: With regard to the buildings to be erected, your Committee proposes that a member of the Colonial Council be elected to join whoever may be charged with the control of those works and most especially the erection of the Government House, and building the newly projected King's Wharf, . . . Ad. G.—Expenses for buildings and other uncertain expenses 29*300 00 REMARKS.—SPECIFICATION OF ITEM G. For completing the new dwelling for the President $11,556 97 Furniture &c. for the same 1,600 00 For extending the so called King's Wharf 5,527 00 GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 9) Various Repairs to Buildings &c 1,900 00 The bridge across Lange 's Gut 725 00 Rent of buildings and public offices 3,854 50 For attending to the cemeteries &c 400 00 Uncertain Expenses 3,400 00 For promoting the cultivation cf bees 320 00 $29,283 47 11. Proposed by the Committe. Ad G.—To be added: "to be used in accordance with the speci- fication in the remarks to the Money Bill." "The grant of the money herein posted for the accomplish- ment of the Government house and for the extention of the King's Wharf to be made on condition that a member of the Council be appointed to join the controlling committees for the proper execution of these 'forks." 6. 19 October 1865: . . . The Council thereafter proceeded to the 4th item on the order of the day. "Interrogation of the 4th member for St. Thomas "and St. John's to the Vice-Governor concerning "the discontinuation of the works at the new Gov- ernment house." The Council having silently consented to the interrogation announced by the 4th member for St. Thomas, said member stated, that since he had written the letter, that had been read by the Secretary, a commission had bean appointed to give an opinion on certain questions concerning the new Government house. The honor had been conferred on him to be nominated a member thereof owing to the resignation of the Chairman, who had thought it better to insinuate to the Governor, that the 4th member might be put in his place. This he had not been aware of, when he accepted of his nomination. The motives, however, for which he had ex- pressed the wish to ask for some information about the sus- pension of the works at the new Government house, did yet exist. The works had been stopped for more than a month and none of the members of the Council lenew as yet the cause, why the Government had taken such a determination. The Coun- cil, he believed, had a right to be informed, the moment the order to suspend the works had been given, because the Colonial Council had voted the funds for the erection of GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 10] said building, and if additional funds should be required— as it had the appearance—in order to finish the building, the demand would have to be made to the Colonial Council. Therefore the Council should not have been kept ignorant of what had happened, but ought to have been immediately informed of the difficulites, which had arisen and had caused the suspension of the works. From the proceedings of the Colonial Council of last year, he further said it could be ascertained that two opinions had divided the Council—the minority advising to purchase the residence of the late Vice-Governor Berg, and the majority proposing to allow $25000 to rebuild a Government house on the spot of the old one. The latter opinion had been adopted, but nothing indicated that a plan had ever been presented to the Colonial Council. If such had been omitted it was a fault, because all the blame and all the responsibility must now fall exclusively on those who had accepted the plan, whilst otherwise the responsibility could have been shared with the Colonial Council, if that body had given its sanction to it. The same member asked further, why the undertaking of the -work had not been announced for general competition, why no tenders had been called in as customary for all public works. The authorities having deviated from that rule, the 4th member thought, he had a right to presume that, if it had been observed, $4,000 to $5,000 could have been saved. A fact which supported his supposition was this, that four or five months after having signed the contract with the President the contractor had consented to another contract by "which he promised to take over a certain quantity of materials at prices, which the speaker could not all consider advantageious for him, as for instance a lot of galvanized iron—without any specification of quantity—which, to judge from the pur- chase sum, must contain the double quantity of what would suffice to cover the roof of the Government house. His remarks the speaker finally comprised into the follow- ing three questions : Why the plan of the building had not been submitted to the Colonial Council, before the works wore commenced? Why the erection of the building had not been offered for competition? and .Thy the Council had not in due time been informed of the cause, why the works were suspended? GOVZRMvENT HOUSE HiVBS No. VI-17 (Page 11) The President stated, that the examination of the matter, which had occasioned this interrogation, was at present by the Administration referred to a Committee, which the 4th member for St. Thomas at the Presidency's request had joined. The report of said Committee ought to be awaited and would later, when received be brought to the knowledge of the Council together 'with different other questions concerning the same subject. 7. 2 December 1865: . . . Thereafter came a proposal from the Chairman, that all members of the Council should go in a committee to examine: The contract about the erection of the Government house, the contract 'with the firm GEO. NUNES & Co., &c. The proposal was recommended by the 3rd and 7th members for St. Thomas, whilst the 4th Member stated his doubts of the expediency of the intended measure. At the voting the proposal was unanimously adopted. 8. 19 January 1866:. . . His Excellency having requested the 'word before the Council entered upon the order of the day, then said, that the Presidency believed that it owed to the Council a communication 'with regard to the cause of the inter- ruption in the erection of the Government house, which had been decided upon some months ago. This as the Council are aware, was mainly occasioned by it being found, that the staircase proposed to lead to the second story of the building, 'would not fulfill the demands 'which ought to be made for such an edifice, partly owing to the construction being unsuitable, and partly owing to its position and light, AS said deficiencies were unanimously aclmowledged to exist by a commission, 'whose opinion had been requested on the matter, who also examined another plan for the construction of the stair-case and which the majority then thought that it could recommend. As a negociation had been entered into -with the Contractor for the work about the expenses attending the erection of this stair- case, it appeared that these, in several ways, would surpass the amount for the building, as stipulated by GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 12) the contract, and cause an increase in the sum fixed for buildings, by the Budget for 1865-66. The same it was presumed, would be the case with regard to divers other plans for the building of other stair-cases, which were also made matters for consideration. As a sketch was then received from Mr. MARSTRANDj—who had drawn the adopted plan for the building,—according to which a stair-case could be built at the same cost as originally estimated, and which, according to the opinion of the Inspector of buildings and other judges of the matter,—would believe the deficiencies with regard to position and light from which the original stair-case suffered and which would not occupy a larger space of the building, than the latter,—it was resolved upon to adopt the erection as recommended by Mr. MARSTRAND, and which the Contractor was willing to execute, without any increase in the amount contracted. The few very insignificant modifications, which the re- commencement of the work made necessary, have thence been fixed by an addition to the contract, which is signed by the Presidency, and MR. BRIGHT,—in accordance with which the work has already been recommended, and will be continued after the originally approved plan, and without going beyond the amount which has been entered on the Budget. The modified sketch as well as the aforesaid addition to the contract would be com- municated the Council. 9. 18 May 1866 "Letter from the Presidency, dated 13th April 1866, whereby the Council's sanction is solicited for the renewal of the Contract with Mr. W. C. Carpenter, concerning the rent of the President's temporary residence for one year, and for a monthly rent of 8100." The Vice-Governor explained, that the owner of the said residence had given the three months' notice to leave according to the Contract; but that he was willing to renew it for an enhanced rent; that he had been treated with in consequence thereof, and that he demands the present monthly rent of $75 augmented to $100 from the 1st July next. As it is considered very in-opportune, and expensive to move and as the Government house will soon be completed, be solicited the Council's sanction to renew the contract for one year, and with the monthly rent of $1000, as demanded, from 1st July ensuing. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 13) The 7th member for St. Thomas [Hjerno] said; that according to the contract for the erection of the Government-house, the roof v/as to have been laid before the 31st March 1865, and the building to have been finished previous to the 31st March this year. He would thank His Excellency for some elucidation when it could be expected to see the Government-house completed. The Vice-Governor replied, that he v/as not at present prepared to give any such elucidations. The work, as v/as well-known, had been stopped for several months, but not withstanding that, it would hardly be expected that the work would be completed before the expiration of a year; the roof had now been laid, and the works on the interior part of the building, were being proceeded with without any interruption. 10. Draft of the Colonial Budget. . . for the Financial Year 1866-67:. . . G. Buildings and other Uncertain Expenses. . .$25,660.00 11. 9 August 1866:. . . The Council then proceeded to as No. 10. Letter from the Presidency of 4th i.ugust 1866, com- municating to the Council, that the surplus with which the actual revenues of the Colonial Treasury exceeded the expenditures in the past financial year, instead of bring as stated $11,653 35cs, it is now $9,653 35cs, owing to, that the 3rd in- stalment of the sum under contract for the erection of the Government House, and which was paid to the undertaker on the 21st April 1865, must be considered as appertaining to the Colonial Budget for 1865-66. Reports from the 4th Member for St. Thomas (Lange), which, in accordance with resolution of the Council are entered in the its printed proceedings. CONCERNING THE GOVERMvENT HOUSE. The works at Government house were advancing fast, when almost suddenly the Builder, Mr. Bright v/as taken away from this world. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HTJ3S No. VI-17 (Page 14) The building stands to-day in this position. The floor and the divisions of the second story are finished, and all the wainscots are laid upon the walls. On the third story a great part of the floor is also laid. The stair- case, which had been the cause of a long interruption in the works, is placed. Almost all the pipes for the gas- lights are fixed in the interior of the building, but the mode adopted for the work, has caused some remarks to be made by me of the danger it presents to the inhabitatants of the house. These remarks have not as yet been taken into consideration. The cistern has been commenced, which ac- cording to the Contract was to contain 100 puncheons of water; but the Controlling Committee has thought that, it would be better to use all the space towards the west of the building, and five feet can be gained there. These five feet would give an addition to the Cistern of from 25 to 30 puncheons of water more, and besides that, the pantry which is to be erected over the cistern would also gain 5 feet more in length. This improvement has been suggested by the Comimission to His Excellency the President, together with a proposal for a covered gallery with standing jalousies being erected to the east of the pantry, and thereby to establish a communication between the kitchen and dining- hall. Without this gallery the service will have to be performed in the open yard. The President has approved of the proposal, with the exception of the covered gallery, which as he has justly stated, can at any time be erected. The extension of the cistern and pantry is calculated to cost $450. A wall will have tc be built towards the west of the lot to keep up the ground and the large blocks of stone, which he there in an inclined course, on account of the trench vdiich has been dug on that side of the building, rifter the heavy rains on the 27th and 28th June last, some of these rocks parted from the hill and slipped down in the alley and filled it up to the height of the windows. A wall to resist against the pressure of these inclined rocks should be not less than two feet thick. It will be a costly work and entirely unforeseen in the contract. I must ovserve that the principal cause why the work has been prolonged much beyond the time fixed with the builder is that many points have been left undecided in the contract, for instance the number of doors in the interior divisions of the different stories, their dimensions and the arrange- ments in the yard. But above all it was to select a better spot for the staircase, the one in the original plan having GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 15) been considered defective as much on account of the spot designated, as of the plan of the staircase itself. In conclusion I must report that the opinion of the builder was that the building would be completed by the end of September next. Nov/ nothing can be said in that respect; it depends upon what length of time will yet elapse before the Government decides about the resumption of the work. 12. Colonial Council Budget Committee Report on the Draft of the Colonial Budget. . .for the Financial Year 1866-67:.. . Sub item G., Building's and other uncertain expenses. 1. The first item $9,031 09 for completing the President's dwelling house, Your Committee would recommend may pass. 2. As regards the 2nd item $1,400 for furniture for the President's dwelling house, Your Committee would also recommend that it pass; expecting, that statements of the articles already purchased, and of those to be purchased, will be laid before the Colonial Council. In conformity with the foregoing, this Money-bill as rec- ommended by Your Committee will read as follows:— For completing the President's dwelling $9,031 09 " Furniture for the sane 1,400 00 13. 25 September 1866:. . . The Vice-Governor said, that the Presidency intends bring forward several amendments at the 2nd dis- cussion. With regard to the amount posted for com- pleting the new President-dwelling he had no remarks to make. Concerning the item $1400 for Chandeliers, Mirrors and Furniture, of which a part can be considered as fixtures,--he would for the present withdraw it. There will be laid before the Council later, a Money Bill for the said articles and for gas. at the same time a list of the inventory which has already been procured, and of the additional furniture, which the larger locality will make necessary, will also be produced. The matter has been entrusted to the Com- mittee for controlling the works at Government-house, for which Committee the Council is requested to elect one more of its members, whilst another member will be elected by the Presidency. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 16) The Vice-Governor then requested the Council to elect a member from its midst for together with the . com- mission controlling the works at Government house, and one member elected by himself to investigate and appraise the inventory at present appertaining to the President's dwelling, and also to report on what is further necessary to be procured. The Council gave its sanction tacitly and elected the 2nd member for St. Thomas (S. Lucchetti) with 7 votes. 14. 4 October 1866:. . . 1. 2nd. discussion on Money Bill for Expenses under the Budget for 1866-67 sub Item G. with addi- tional Money bill to No. 1, "for completing the new Presidents-dwelling," additional Money Bills sub No. 3 "for extending the King's Wharf;" along with amendments to No. 3, 5 > 6 and 8 in the Money Bill. The Chairman put each item of the Money Bill separately under discussion; and then to the vote, namely, No. 1 "For completing the new President -dwelling- AS none of the members took the word, the additional money bill for this item in the Bill $912 49 was put to the vote, and carried un- animously. The amount $9031 09 was then put to the vote, and as it was adopted unanimously the total amount granted will then be $9943 58 No. 2. "Inventory for the new President dwelling" $1400 00 The Vice-Governor withdrew this item in the money bill. 15. 5 November 1866:. . . 3. First discussion on Money Bill for Expenses under the Budget for 1866-67 sub item G2 "Furniture for the President's dwelling." The Vice-Governor referred to the remarks, which accompanied the Money Bill and to the repcrt on the matter by the Controlling Commission; and added, that an additional Money Bill for Gas, would be laid be- fore the Council; but however, not before the Budget -.'/as finally discussed and closed. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 17] 16. 7 November 1866:. . . 2. Second discussion on Money-bill for Expenses under the Budget for 1866-67 sub item G. 1. "Furniture for the new President-dwelling." The Vice-Governor requested the Council to take notice, that the matter does not concern him per- sonally, but the office which he fills, and that the Commission had recommended that the furniture found necessary for the official part of the building be procured. The 4th member for St. Thomas (Lange) as member of the Commission to report on what furniture it was yet found necessary to procure for the new President dwelling, said that the Commission had endeavored to execute the trust which was confided to it, with ecnoomy; but that it had also had its attention directed to what was becoming. The statement which was then framed, had circulated between the members of the Council, and as the Commission was convinced, that the necessary furniture could not be procured cheaper than for the prices stated by it he recommended the money bill for adoption. The amount for procuring furniture for the President dwelling $2,400 was then put to the vote, and passed with 9 votes to 2. 17. 18 December 1866:. . . 3. First discussion on additional Money Bill for for expenses under the Budget for 1866-67 sub item G. 1. "For completing the new Presidential residence." At the request of the Chairman, the Secretary read out the additional Money Bill. The Vice-Governor said, that if the additional Money Bill as produced, gave the hope, that the proposed $1500 would be the last moneys, which would be de- manded, then he must even now explain, that a further amount would be necessary for the establishing of gas. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page IS) The v/orks specified in the proposal, and which could not be calculated previously to the completion of the build- ing, but which, however, it was supposed would be nec- essary, have been proposed by the Commission that super- intends the building works, which has also given up the amounts specified. He was, however, of the opinion, that the works could require some modifications; but viewed it nevertheless as being more regular, that the Presi- dency be authorised, after deliberating with the build- ing commission and without being bound by the specifica- tion, to employ until $1500 in the execution of all the v/orks proposed, in the best and cheapest manner. On a proposal from the Chairman the matter passed to a second discussion. 18. 8 January 1867:. . . 1. 2nd discussion on additional money bill under the budget for 1866-67 Item G. "Building—and other uncertain expenses," for laying of gaspipes and thereto belonging to lighting apparatusses for the Presidential Residence. The 7th Member for St. Thomas (Hjerno) said he was of the opinion, that the title of the bill, as addi- tional money bill under the budget for 1866-67, was incorrect. The budget is a statement of the revenue and disbursements of the municipality for a financial year, and the Council cannot grant any amount as ""ad- dition to a budget" which is already passed, as thus fixed as the budget for the year. He, the speaker, had of course, no objection to the money bill itself; but he was against its being put forward as it has been, and it was of course to be expected, that a so loosely framed budget as the one for the present year, would make several extra grants necessary; but such are not parts of the year's budget. The 1st Crown Member (Krebs) said, that the Council was probably, not against the bill itself; but that he was of the same opinion as the 7th Member (Hjerno) that the title was incorrect. The Budget for 1866-67 was closed, no draft of a new budget had been received and if the Council pass the present title then the budget ought to be altered. The 7th Member for St. Thomas (Hjerno) said that what he v/ished for is an alteration in the title, namely, that instead of additional money-bill under the budget for 1866-67, it be denominated "an extra grant for completing the government-house, or the President's official residence." GOVERNMENT HOUSE JIABS No. VI-17 (Page 19) . The 2nd member for St. Thomas [S. Lucchetti] referred to 58 in the Colonial Lav/, according to which a special extra-grant is necessary for an expenditure, which is not entered on the Budget. The 7th Member [Hjernb] opined, that the Vice- Governor ought not to hesitate in conceding to so simple a request of the Council's and was further of the opinion, that the Superior Authority would often gain by showing the Council a little more courtesy. The 1st and 4th Members for St. Thomas [Benners and Lunge] also spoke for the opinion set forth by the 7th Member [Hjernb.] The Chairman asked the Vice Governor if he had any objection to alter the title of the bill. The Vice Governor replied that he was not at present prepared to do so; since he must be of the opinion that a budget is fixed for an entire financial year, and when property craves larger amounts than those posted therein, then they must naturaly come under as additional money bills. He would, however, if the Council desired it, request that the discussion be deferred until the next meeting, when he would ex- press his views after having considered the matter. The Council tacitly adopted to defer the present discussion until the next meeting. 19. 25 January 1867:. . . 1. Second discussion on an additional Money Bill to the Budget'for 1866-67, sub Expenditure "G" Buildings and other uncertain expenses." On a motion from the 1st Crown-Member (Krebs) and as none of the other Members took the word, the Chairman put the bill to the vote as follows: ..for laying gas pipes and for the thereto be- longing lighting apparata are hereby granted an amount of until $1697 It was carried with 9 votes to 3- GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 20) 20. 12 March 1867:. . . 2. A Proposal from the Presidency for a grant of $500 for an artistical decoration of the vestibule in the new Government-house. The Chairman said, that the matter had been forwarded to him rather late, but that as it had circulated it would be put under discussion, provided, however, that the Council had no objections. The Vice-Governor said that the proposal from the Committee controlling the building-works at Government house, by a mistake had been transmitted to the Govern- ment, without any copy thereof previously having been taken. The Chairman put the question to the Council, if the present proposal is to be treated as a money- bill, and if this discussion, shall be considered as a first discussion; to which the Council tacitly gave its acquiescence. The 7th Member for St. Thomas (Hjerno) said that he thought the thanks of the Council were due to the Controlling-Committee for having made the present pro- posal for an artistical decoration of the vestibule, whereby its excessive ugliness and other deficiencies, in part would be amended and concealed. The 1st Member for St. Thomas (Benners) asked, if the artistical decoration of the vestibule would not create a disparity to the other decorations of the building!— he was of the opinion, that the whole building should be decorated artistically, so as to bring it in unison, or not at all. The 7th Member for St. Thomas (Hjerno) said, that all over the world it will be found, that vestibules are decorated differently from the other parts of the building—to which, in this especial case, must be added the necessity of repairing the vestibule's archi- tectural disproportions. The 4th Member for St. Thomas (Langc) said, that the building-commission had recommended the artistical dec- oration in question, and that there will be no want of GOVERNMENT HCUSE HABS NO. VI-17 (Page 21) harmony between the vestibule and the rest of the dec- orations; the hall will be adorned with a costly tapestry, and will have a tasteful cornice, and there will thus be a very good harmony. The 1st Crown Member (Krebs) said, that the only danger in adopting the present proposal was, that the amounts for the works on Government house come in in small portions; he had long ago expressed it as his opinion, that the building would eventually cost much more than what it was estimated at. Perhaps the President could even yet prevail upon the building-commission to bring in an elaborate plan of all still necessary, and unfinished v/orks and of the expenses for the same. Al- though he admitted, that the vestibule required some such decoration as the one proposed, to conceal its gloominess, and although he also intended to vote for the proposal; he would nevertheless ask, how the /.mount will be posted, if before the 1st April? But the present financial year will then have expired, and'it will be too late to use the money; and if it is to be posted for the next finan- cial year, then the amount cannot be granted. The Vice-Governor replied, that it would not be pos- sible for the present, to say what other works or amounts would be necessary; for instance it is supposed that the balcony, which has not arrived as yet will cost $200 or $300 more. Bright's estate has also a claim to some indemnity for extra work, but what the amount will be, can not be decided before the work is completed. We have been obliged to proceed in this manner because we could only take decision by degrees as the work advanced. Y/ith respect to what financial year the amount proposed is to be used in the question now is only if the Council will or will not adopt the proposal for the decoration of the vestibule; but the manner in which, or wrhen, the money will be used, must be left to the executive. Of course it is the rule that amounts, which have been granted, and not used in the financial year go back in the Colonial-Treasury and must be asked for a-new. The 7th member for "St. Thomas (H.jerno) asked, if His Excellency means, if the money be not granted that the artist will leave the Island? The Vice Governor. Yes! The 1st member for St. John's (Elliott,) said that as the moneys, if they even be granted—cannot be used before the expiration of the financial year; but GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS Mo. VI-17 (Page 22) must be asked for a-r.ew; there could be no danger in granting the amount and that to him it appeared reason- able, that the President must desire to know if the Council agreed with him, and the controlling Commission. The 1st member for St. Thomas, (Benners) said that he perfectly agreed with the 1st Crown-member (Krebs) with regard to the introduction of the proposal; but the honorable member would certainly admit that this is an entirely exceptional case; when it is taken into consideration, that the amount in question could not be forseen whilst the vestibule was building, and as it now was seen, that something must be done to make it even tolerable. Neither must it be forgotten that we can now get an artist to do the work, which was a rare thing here. He hoped that the honorable member would agree with him, that the case was exceptional, and moved, that it be submitted to the vote, if the vestibule is to be decorated as propose. The 7th member (Hjerno*) agreed entirely with the last speaker, and recommended his proposal. The 6th member for St. Thomas (Lagarde) found the remarks of the 1st Crown member (Krebs) sound and per- fect, and added that if the artiest in question should be forced to leave the Island before the question is decided, then the work could be put up for competition, and he felt assured, that artists would come here from Martinique and other places. The Chairman said, that he would consider the first discussion closed, and requested the Vice-Governor, pre- vious to the second discussion, to bring in the proposal in form of an extra money-bill, which the Vice-Governor promised to do. The matter passed to a second discussion. 21. 12 March 1867:. . . The 4th Member for St. Thomas (Lange) as member of the Commission controlling the works at the new presi- dential residence reported, that the works there pro- gress very slowly, and not at all in a satisfactory manner, it appears that a system of economy has been adopted, which very often acts to the detriment of the GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 23) building. He v/ould only point out the exceeding plain- ness of the jealousies, the tapestry on the bare cloth without being firstly covered with brown paper, the use of iron nails instead of galvanized nails to the ceiling. All the ceilings are, on account of the want of a conscientious control, a complete failure, and this is especially the case with the ceiling in the re- ception-hall. He had called the attention of the two superintendents to the bad manner to which this work was proceeding; the one had replied, that it was dif- ficult to get workmen, and the other, that the paint- ing v/ould hide the defects of the work; but this hope had not been fulfilled, for after two coats of paint the ceiling in the solemnity-hall had shown itself to be so defective, that they were obliged to use the plain to endeavout-to give it a more even surface. There is still left to be done the tapestrying of the whole of the interior part of the building, the erec- tion of the balcony on the facade, and ome work out- side the building etc. etc. The balcony has not ar- rived as yet, but is expected, the furniture for the official rooms, and the chambers etc. have been ordered also. He begged to assure the Council that it was no pleasant task to be a member of such a commission, for in general one's opinion is not asked, and when one finds occassion to make remarks concerning the work it is too late, the work has proceeded too far to amend what is then acknowledged to be defective. 22. 4 npril 1867:. . . 2. Second discussion on an extra money bill to the budget for 1866-67—for an artistical decora- tion of the vestibule in the new presidential •dwelling $500. The Vice-Governor pointed out, that the drawings of the proposed decoration of the Vestibule, executed by the artist Visby, had been laid before the Council, and as the Commission controlling the works on the presidential dwelling" had recommended the said decora- tion, he would advise that the rare opportunity, which now offers itself by the artist Visby's presence, be used, and that the Council therefore will grant the amount. The 1st Member for St. Thomas (Benners) said that he since the matter had been laid before the Council, had GOVERNOR HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 24) heard, that the proposed decoration is to he executed on paper;—he did not know how far this was true, but in his opinion the work, if executed on paper, cannot he lasting, it would not resist dampness which finally would destroy the painting. He believed it would not take any very considerable expense to have the decora- tion executed so as to last for a longer period. The Vice-Governor said, that the honorable member probably entertained the opinion, that the decoration ought to be executed with the so called stucco work; but that would be very difficult and was seldom lasting, it had been tried in St. Croix, but had failed. With respect to the proposed decoration being executed on paper, he said it would bo a matter of course that the board for the casings would be plained off as smoothly as possible and then first covered with brown and after- wards with paper. He had seen several pieces of work in this manner done very excellently by the artist' in question. The honorable member's remarks deserved how- ever, to be taken into consideration, and if it was found, that the work could be executed on wood, it would also be done,—the additional expenses would not amount to much;--but this in his opinion, ought not to prevent the Council from granting the proposed amount. The 4th member for St. Thomas (Lange) said in reply to the 1st member (Benners) that the painting could not be executed on wood, as it is entirely impossible to join boards so closely together, that seams will not be perceived. The only way will therefore be to join the boards as closely as possible then cover them with brown and paper, and thereon execute the decoration, which will last at least for twenty years. The 1st Corwn member (Krebs) said, that he had not altered his views, and that he must maintain that the moneys can not be used in the period for which they are asked. He intended to vote against the extra money- bill, as he could not get a clear idea of how money can be granted for a financial year, which has already ex- pired, and as every member of the Council, and the Vice- Governor himself must know, that the amount cannot be used. He asked why the amount had not been entered on GOvll'RN7 u.!IT HOUSE HA73S No. VI-17 (Page 25) the draft of a budget for 1867-68, which had been distrib- uted to-day. The Vice-Governor replied that the amount had not been entered on the draft of a new budget, as it was a ques- tion of formality which was of no importance; he would; however, have nothing aginst the amount being entered for the new financial year, if he was convinced, that the Council would grant the amount or declare itself in favor of the proposal; as the Presidency otherwise could not be certain to secure the services of the artist. The 1st Member for St. Thomas (Benners) said, that he did not entirely agree with the 4th member (Lange) as to the difficulty being removed in the manner as the member had pointed out; he, the speaker was of the opinion, that is was wrong to execute a decoration on paper, -which ought to be stucco-work. With regard to the remarks of the 1st Crown member (Krebs) he con- sidered, that the honorable member ought to submit to the circumstances of the case, as it ought to be taken into consideration, that the artist's time was precious to him, and that he must leave the place if he be not engaged. The Chairman said, that as he probably wras the only one who had such a decoration in his house, as the one in question, he could perhaps give some elucidation. It was perfectly correct as advanced by the honorable 4th member for St. Thomas (Lange), that is was the sole, and best manner to clothe the boards with brovm and then with paper for thereon to execute the work. To put the decoration on wood would be impossible, as the boards which are worked up here are never so thoroughly dried or ripe as not to shrink after a short while;— wood to be used for the purpose, must T'e a very long time, probably for years. Experience had thus taught him, that a decoration as the one mentioned, could not be executed in any other manner than the one pro- posed, which will also last for many years. The 6th member for St. Thomas (Lagarde) said, that the question of the decoration being executed on wood was of less significance, and that he would not con- test the abilities of the artist in question; but that he must maintain, that all public work ought to be put GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 26) up for competition, and that it would be found, that many artists from many other places would come here, and offer their services. The Chairman closed the discussions and put the extra money-bill to the vote. It passed with 9 votes to 3- 23- 25 January 1868:. . . 5. Draft of an extra Money-Bill to the Budget for the financial year 1867-68. In addition to the expenses under the Budget— item G. Building and other uncertain expenses, are granted: For additional buildings and re- pairs at the President's dwelling. . . . $800. The 8th Member for St. Thomas (Hingelberg) would only remark, that the privy mentioned in the draft and which is to cost $450, will be a very costly affair that a couple of small houses could be built for that amount; he therefore found it to be exhorbitant, and would, unless he saw a proper estimate, vote aginst the amount. The 6th Member for St. Thomas (Desbas) asked, if at the time that the Presidential residence was being erected, there had been made no mention of building a privy! The Vice-Governor replied, what as the inliabitants in the Government-house then enjoyed a sort of privi- lege in having the use of the privy in the Danish Parsonage, there was no mention made of building a privy at the time, he added (in reply to a question put by the 7th Member for St. Thomas (Krebs) that some objections had lately arisen on the side of the Danish Parson; and that it had also been considered necessary that a building like the President's dwell- ing ought to have a privy of its own. It was very likely, that the amount as proposed was estimated too highly; still he had heard the opinion of two archi- tects, according to which the amount was not sufficient. The 5th Member for St. Thomas (Rosenstand) said, that if the 7th Member for St. Thomas (Krebs) -would also keep the accounts for this enterprise, he would vote for the amount. GOVERNMENT HOUSE R7-vBS No. VI-17 (Page 27) The 3rd Crown-Member (Marstrand) explained that the locality which was hitherto used is the property of the Church, and that the use of it could not under the altered relations continue. With regard to the ex- penses he said, that it was impossible beforehand to say what work would have to be executed, and what it will cost as it entirely depends on the blasting of the rocky bottom to a sufficient depth. The 1st Crown Member [Meic":e],. and the 7th Member for St. Thomas [Krebs] spoke in favour of the so-called deodorising closets being introduced as the most proper, and suitable to the very limited yard-room at the presi- dential dwelling. The draft then passed to a 2nd discussion. 24. 7 February 1868:. . . 3. Second discussion on draft of an extra Money-Bill to the budget for 1867-68, sub item G. Building and other uncertain expenses, to wit: In addi- tion to the expenses under item G. Building and other uncertain expenses are granted: For addi- tional building, and repairs at the President's dwelling " $800. The 7th Member for St. Thomas [Krebs] said, that he had expected to see a specified estimate of item No. 1 in the draft, namely $450 for erecting a privy at the President's dwelling; v/hich, although not directly promised, still under the former discussion on the matter, had been considered as requisite; whilst it is also mentioned in the remarks to the draft, that the amount is based upon an estimate. The two other items in the draft appear to be of lesser significance, al- though he must observe, that the whole painting work at the hospital was executed for $150. He moved, that the present discussion be deferred until a specified estimate be laid before the Council. The Vice-Governor's Delegate [Anders n] also pro- posed, in behalf of the Presidency that the further discussion en the matter be deferred to a subsequent meeting, previous to which he promised that the re- quisite estimate should be laid before the Council. The Council tacitly acquiesced, whereupon the matter was deferred. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 28) 25. 5 March 1868:. . . 1. Second discussion on draft of an extra Money-Bill to the Budget for 1867-68, sub Item G. Building and other uncertain Expenses: for additional repairs and buildings at Government-house..$800. to which Amendments have been proposed by the Presidency. The Chairman read the iumendments, as follows: "DRAFT OF AMEND4IENTS. " proposed by the Presidency at the 2nd discussion " on draft of an additional Money-Bill to the " budget for the municipality of St. Thomas and St. " Johns for the financial year 1867-68, to wit: " In addition to the expenses under Item G. Build- "ings and other uncertain expenses are granted: "For additional buildings, and repairs at Govern- "ment house $800. " 1 that the item be posted with...$480. " 2 that further be granted for "repairs to the engine-houses 2.495. "3 that the total amount of the "extra money-bill be posted with 975." j-umendment No. 1 was put under discussion. The Vice-Governor explained the reason for the reduc- tion proposed, namely that the convenience mentioned in the original proposal is now estimated to cost 3130, as it is intended to be erected of wood. He recommended the amendment. As none of the members took the word, the amendment No. 1, was put to the vote, and passed unanimously. The following articles are from Sanct Thomae Tidende (of- ficial Government newspaper published on St. Thomas). Con- sulted on microfilm in the St. Thomas Public Library: G0VT5RNMENT HOUSE ILYJ3S No. VI-17 (Page 29) 1. 8 April 1865: This day being the forty-seventh anniversary of the birth of His Most Gracious Majesty, King Christian the Ninth, Fort Christian early this morning fired a Royal salute, the Military hand playing at the same time the National Anthem. At noon a Levee was held at the "Masonic Hall," there being at present no Government House. On His Majesty's health being proposed and drank, Fort Christian fired another salute. After His Majesty's health had been drunk, the Vice-Governor read a Royal Rescript from the King, responsive to two Addresses, one from the Colonial Council of St. Croix on the opening of its session, and one from the Colonial Council of this Island on the occasion of His Majesty's last anniversary, both of which through the Government of St. Croix and the Presidency here, had been respectfully laid before His Majesty. Cur space to-day prevents our insertion of the Royal letter, but in our next will appear. After the Levee had concluded the Vice-Governor and the assembled company proceeded to the site of the old Government House, and where the new one is to be erected, for the purpose of performing the ceremony of laying the corner-stone, which was done by the Vice-Governor. As usual a bottle was deposited within the stone; we are however unable to do more than briefly refer to it to- day. This also shall have our attention. The Vice- Governor entertains at his residence this evening a select company of gentlemen to dinner. 2. 12 April 1865: Ve also put before our readers a copy of the memoran- dum placed within the corner stone of the new Government- house, which as we said in our last was laid on the 8th instant by the Vice-Governor, viz:— "This Stone was on this day the forty-seventh anniversary of Our Most Gracious King Christian the Ninth laid as a Corner-stone for the building to be constructed to serve as the residence of the President of St. Thomas and St. Johns on the same ground on which the former Government House was standing. The erection is ordered by the lav; voted by the Imperial Council of Denmark and confirmed by the King on the Zpth of June, 186A • GOVERNMENT HOUSE FLUBS NO. VI-17 (Page 30) "His Excellency V. Birch, Knight of Dannebrog and Dahnebrogsmand, is Governor pf the Danish West India Islands, and Chamberlain LOUIS ROTHE, Knight of Danne- brog, President of St. Thomas and St. Johns. "The Colonial Council for St. Thomas and St. Johns which most submissively advised on the place for the erection of this building consisted of:— Messrs. Ohsten,Riiae.-, Rosenstand, Lucchetti, Philips, Benners, Delatte, Nunes, Mourier, and Hjardemaal. "The erection of the building is undertaken by Mr. RICHARD BRIGHT, a native of St. Croix. "'God grant that justice, honest endeavours for the welfare of this coraiiTunity and a christian domestic life may ever dwell under the roof of this building.'" St. Thomas, 8th of April 1865. 3. 7 September 1867: Reports the observance of the Queen's birthday with a levee at the new Government House with Vice-Governor Stakeman (who had just replaced Vice-Governor Rothe under whose administration the house was built) as host. This is the earliest discovered evidence of the new government house being in use. 3 • The f olloiving notations are from documents in the U.S. National archives, 'Washington, D. C , Records Group 55, Virgin Island Records, Office of the Building Inspector, St. Thomas, Letters Received. . . 1860-73: a. 1862: Various bills for minor repairs to the old government house. b. 10 June 1864: "We the undersigned have by the request of Governor Rothe held several meetings to deliberate on the subject of the erection of a new Governmenthouse in S. Thomas and have decided as follows: "That the building be erected on the site of the present Governmenthouse, three stories in height, 64 feet in length, & 52 feet in width, all of wall work faced with white bricks, and inner part of stone, with exception of the upper GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 31) story, which must be all of bricks in and out, ac- cording to the plan laid before us, which we rec- omment be adopted, with the alteration of an addi- tional entrance to the east in order to have a better light in the basement story—an area of 5 or 6 feet be left from the street to the west- ward . "The walls to be as follows, Foundation 2 feet 8 inches, basement story 2 feet, next story 1-2/3 feet (twenty inches) & third story 1 foot 6 inches in thickness. "The heights of the ceilings as follows: base- ment story eleven feet, 1st floor fourteen feet, second floor 10 feet in the clear—Windows and doors in proportion to each story, with jealousies 8c glazed sashes where required—an iron covered balcony the full length of the building to the south as pr plan. "The beams of flooring joists for the floor above the basement 4 x 12 inches, upper floor 3 x 12 inches, all the floors to be of narrow pitch pine boards, not exceeding six inches in width— the cost of the above mentioned building we esti- mate will be from twenty thousand to twenty five thousand Dollars. "S. Thomas 10th June 1864 Strandgaard Geo Tucker R. Bright Otto Marstrand" 13 October 1864: to the Building Inspector from L. Rothe: Advising that the Finance Minister has allowed $15,000 for the coming year's budget for demolish- ing the old government house and building a new one on the same site, in accordance with the vote of the majority of the Council and the executed plan by Marstrand. Continues with a long discussion of planning and financial considerations. 26 October I864: to Building Inspector Strandgaard from L. Rothe: Refers to a drawing by Merchant [Otto] Marstrand. Continues with a long discussion of cost estimates refering to a bid from "Tommermester" (Master GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 ()age 32) carpenter) Bright for $24,800, and an unidentified and undated estimate for $25,009. 26 February 1866: from Rothe to Strandgaard: on a tile roof for the government house to be made of "Marseille Tiles." 3 June 1866: from Rothe to the Commission for con- tracting the works at the new government house: on the pantry and kitchen. 5 June 1866: from Rothe to the Commission: re- questing a scheme for yard and entrances; with reply giving an estimate of $1500.00. 20 June 1866: from the Commissioners to the Presi- dent: regarding the upper story; ". . .there will be 11 sets of panelled double doors, of which one will be a blind one, all 4'4" by 8'10" in the clear; & 2 pillars in the hall. . ." 30 June 1866: letter from Rothe to the Commission: on the arrangement of rooms in the "upper story," with a sketch by Building Inspector Strandgaard. The sketch shows a rectangular plan 7 bays wide (east-west) by 6 bays deep; an open-well stair- way in the northwest corner 2 bays by 2 hays; a central hallway running east-west 2 bays wide -with a square room partitioned off from it at the east end; 2 rooms along the north wall 2 bays deep, the northeast room 3 bays wide the room at the center taking up the remaining 2 bays; 3 rooms along the south wall 2 bays deep, the center room one bay wide, the corner rooms 3 bays wide. 26 June 1866: from L. Rothe to the Commission: requesting advice about the outbuildings, partic- ularly the pantry and kitchen. 30 June 1866: answer to above (no. 10), signed by Lange and Marstrand; suggesting each building be 16' by 17' with a 8' passage, making use of the existing kitchen and remodelling it later if need be. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 33) July 1866: rough sketch for a new cistern at government house. 7 July 1866: from Rothe to the Commission: asking for a sloping roadway for horses in the east side yard of government house in place of steps. 7 July 1866: an offer from John Stevens to fur- nish gas lights for government house, installed, $1450.00 30 July 1866: an account of work still to be done on the new government house, mainly finish- ing and interior work, total estimate $6520.25. 28 August 1866: from L. Rothe to the Commission for the building of a new government house: noti- fication that master carpenter John Hall has as- sumed the obligations of the late master carpenter Bright, and that work on the "residence for the president" will be taken up again. 5 December 1866: sketch of the Commission's pro- posal for cisterns and walls, showing also the arrangement of the entire site: the sketch shows the new government house occupying about one- third the area of the site and located at the southwest corner; a kitchen 29' long (east-west) is located at the northwest, joined to the rear wall of the house at the west side by a pantry 19' x 17'; a cistern is shown adjoining the kitchen to the east along the rear -.vail of the lot; a large entrance courtyard is shown to the east of the house; servants rooms at the northeast corner of the site; the enclosure of the entire site is completed by walls joining the buildings. The following are from documents in the U. S. National Archives, Records Group 55, Virgin Islands Records, Book- keeper St. Thomas, General Ledger for the Municipality of St. Thomas-St. John: 31 March 1866: according to the contract for the new government house of 19 November 1864 an initial sum of $4;525.88 was transfered to the treasury for various payments. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 34) 13 January 1866: to Richard Bright, a cash advance against the amount of $5,400 that will fall due to him according to the supplementary contract of 9 January 1866 for beginning again the work, $1,509.23. 31 March 1866: cash advance according to the con- tract of 9 January 1866, $1,016.65. 31 March 1866: third payment on the contract sum on Government house construction, $2,000.00 with notation "when roof is on and covered" and that the total consisted of $989 due Bright on the contract and $1,011 for materials. 8 June 1866: to Richard Bright, $989.00 5 July 1866: to Richard Bright "when floors are laid in all three stories," $1,300.00 6 August 1866: to 0. Marstrand for securing doors and windows at hurricane season, $24.81. 6 nugust 1866: to the probate court that handled the late Richard Bright's estate, $200.00 The following installments on the contract sum were paid to the probate court for Richard Bright.'s estate: 8 September 1866 $300 15 September 1866 300 22 September 1866 300 30 Sepbember 1866 300 Total $1,200.00 5 October 1866 300 13 October 1866 300 20 October 1866 600 27 October 1866 300 1,500.00 1 November 1866 600 17 November 1866 600 24 November 1866 600 30 November 1866 400 2,200.00 8 December 1866 300 15 December 1866 300 22 December 1866 300 30 December 1866 200 1,100.00 GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 35) 12 January 1867 200 26 January 1867 100 300.00 2 February 1867 150 16 February 1867 25 175.00 31 March 1867: to John Hall, advance on contract sum ($632), $200.00; the same again, $200.00 31 March 1867: to Briscoe McDougal for iron bal- cony, $1,200.00 31 May 1867: to painter Visby for decoration in the vestibule, $100.00 31 May 1867: to Stevens, for gas fixtures, on contract of $1,697, paid $500.00 22 June 1867: to Visby, second installment, $100.00 16 July 1867: to Visby, balance, $300.00 20 July 1867: to Stevens, balance, $1,197.00 20 July 1867: tc Master Carpenter Hall, for com- pleted work, $200.00 31 July 1867: to W. Dennis for a new pump, $25.20. 1 August 1867: to the Probate Court for Richard Bright's Estate, $460.00. 3 August 1867: to J. Hall for completed work, $200.00 17 August 1867: to J. Hall for completed work, $100.00 29 August 1867: to Briscoe McDougal, balance of contract for balcony, $737.80. 29 August 1867: to J. Hall, balance of contract ($632), $232.00 31 August 1867: to J. Hall, for additional work, $189.00. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 36) 13 September 1867: to John Stevens, for lampposts, etc., $64.87. Secondary and published sources: Bronsted, Johannes (ed.). Vore Gamle Topekolonier. Vol. II: Dansk Vestindien. Copenhagen: V/estermann, 1953. p. 310, illustration of the earlier building erected on this site in 1819; p. 421, "Von Scholten's old governor's house in St. Thomas" unfit by I848 was demolished in 1865. Hingelberg map.: "The Measure Brief Record of Charlotte Amalie Divided in Quarters, Drawn and Annotated November 1836-March 1837," by Frederick Christian Peter Hingelberg, consulted on microfilm at the St. Thomas Public Library. The map for this section of the town shows a site plan for the 1819 building, fully dimensioned, with all the various outbuildings. Larsen, Kay. Dansk Vestindien, 1666-1917. Copenhagen: C. A. Reitzels Forlag, 1928. Larsen, presumably working with documents in Denmark, reports on p. 286 the same key dates: work started August I864, foundation stone laid 8 April 1865, completed September 1867, cost $33,605.79. Taylor, Charles Edwin. Leaflets from the Danish West Indies. London: The Author, 1888. Corroborates on p. 20 the date for the planning of the new government house in 1864, and the laying of the cornerstone 8 April 1865. Prepared by Osmund R. Overby, Architect National Park Service August 1965. PART II. ARCHITECTURAL INFORMATION A. General Statement 1. Architectural character: The Government House is a large, formal building that has been the focus of official life on St. Thomas. It was built in the mid- 1860 's in an academic classical tradition which had always remained dominant in the area,even throughout the 19th century. 2. Condition of fabric: Good; continuously maintained as official residence and offices of the Governor. Re- novated 1930's. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 37) B. Description of Exterior 1. Over-all dimensions: Three stories, brick load-bearing walls, rectangular shape with rear wing. 64' (seven- bay front) x 52' (six bays). 2. Foundations: Brick masonry. 3. Wall construction: Buff brick, stretcher bond headers every fourth course. Painted white. Corner quoins of three projecting courses. Joints between quoins simu- lated by fourth course projecting half as much from wall surface. Second and third stories divided by stringcourse of two projecting header courses with a separating stretcher course in same plane as wall. 4. Openings : a. Doorways and doors: Slightly projecting brick pi- lasters flank main doorway. These extend to a drip cap which is correspondingly larger than those over windows. Double wooden panel doors in wooden frame. Second floor (south) seven doors (glazed in-swinging with eight lights each leaf) open from formal re- ception hall to porch. Above each are in-swinging transoms with four lights each leaf. There are doors from the state dining room to patio on the second floor, north side. There are various exterior service doors at rear. b. Windows and shutters: All windows have a concrete frame flush with the brick wall, and projecting sill. Flat brick arches above. First and second floor windows and doors have projecting neo-classi- cal drip cap of brick v/ith incipient brackets of two brick headers at each side. All windows have 1/4" metal shutters, plain on exterior and pat- terned on interior v/ith projecting diagonal lozenges. Steel frame windows, double-hung, six lights each leaf. Three-light hopper (in-swinging) sash at bottom. Screens set in metal frame between shutters and glazed sash. 5. Roof: a. Shape, covering: Low, hipped roof v/ith corrugated metal covering. GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS Mo. VI-17 (Page 38) b. Cornice, eaves: Elaborate projecting cornice of brick with dentil course. Brick parapet above with roof behind. Low pediment over three center bays on south elevation. Top brick course (coping) on parapet projects slightly. No eaves. c. Dormers: None. 6. Chimneys: None for heating. Various kitchen and soil stacks. Elaborate television antenna at top center of roof. 7. Porches: Ornate cast-iron porch across front (south side) on first and second stories. First deck and approach steps are of square marble tile. Cast-iron openwork railing on both floors; set on brick base first floor. Cast-iron fluted columns on first floor, support box girder which supports cross "I" beams which in turn support wooden porch deck at second floor where columns are lighter but of same design as on first floor. They support wooden frame and plank roof with seven steel channels acting as tie rods. Five inside channels hold electric lights. Ornate cast-iron cornice around porch roof. C. Description of Interior 1. Floor plans: First floor; heavily remodeled, large entrance lobby with offices to the east and west. Second floor; large formal reception hall, alcove on west, state dining room on northeast corner, and kitchen and pantry in lowest level of rear wing, which has no floor at lobby level. Third floor; Governor's residence, parlor, study, three bedrooms with bath, dining room with pantry and a ter- race over the main kitchen and pantry covered with a wooden frame and corrugated metal roof. 2. Stairways: Monumental mahogany staircase. Concrete stair at northwest corner of house leads to upper floors. 3. Flooring: Square ceramic tile (buff matte finish) in lobby and offices. Second and third floors, are modern vinyl tile over a concrete base. 4. Wall and ceiling finish: Hard (smooth) plaster painted white. GOVLFJNMENT HOUSE MBS No. VI-17 (Page 39) 5. Doorways and doors: Wooden frame, painted white. 6. Trim: Wooden baseboards and cornices; wooden molding around all openings. Painted white. 7. Hardware: Shutters have strap hinges bolted on and sitting in pintles. Two-bolt brackets on each shutter. "S" shutter holdbacks. Polished brass hardware on all interior doors. 8. Lighting: Electric fixtures throughout. Gas lamps flanking entry steps now electrified. 9. Heating: No facilities. D. Site 1. General setting and orientation: The Government House faces south on a lot which slopes up steeply to the rear; it is a freestanding building on Government Hill overlooking Charlotte Amalie harbor to the south. Public concrete steps to west separate it from Lutheran Parson- age. Garden to east. 2. Enclosures: Wrought-iron picket fence with plastered masonry posts on outside wall of areaway next to build- ing on west. Same type fence across front (south side) of garden and between garden and patio at higher level of patio. Brick and rubble masonry retaining walls (plastered) in several lines as property slopes upward to north. Similar walls to east of property act as cheeks for brick steps leading to guest cottage. Brick steps lead up from garden to patio. 3. Outbuildings: On north side of lot is a wooden struc- ture used for laundry and storage. On the northeast corner is a wooden frame cottage used as a guest house, which has a hipped gable, corrugated metal roof, wooden shutters, and masonry foundations. A. Walks: Cast stone and brick walks through garden. Lime- stone flags in cement mortar in patio off state dining room with cistern beneath part of it. 5. Landscaping: Well-tended garden (to east) with mahogany, GOVERNMENT HOUSE HABS No. VI-17 (Page 40) flamboyant (poinciana), cedar, genipe and other trees. Prepared by Frederik C. Gjessing, Architect and Philip E. Gardner, Architect National Park Service 195^ JACOB H. S . LIND HOUSE, now BETHANIA, FREDERICK LUTKARaN CHURCH PJVRISH HALL Charlotte Amalie St. Thomas Virgin Islands HISTORIC AMERICAN BUILDINGS SURVEY JACOB H. S. LIND HOUSE, now BETHANIA FREDERICK LUTHERAN CHURCH PARISH HALL HABS No. VI-15 PART I. HISTORICAL INFORMATION A. Physical History 1. Original and subsequent owners: Recorded in deed books: Kings I, p. 5, and Country Register, p. 223, in the St. Thomas Recorder of Deeds Office, Kongens Gade 18, St. Thomas. The original owner, Jacob Henrick Schmaltz Lind, an attorney and auditor, acquired the property by deed from Bert Christian Stenersen 27 April 1799. On his death, the ovmership transferred to his wife, Helena B. Lind. Following her death the property passed to her daugher and her husband, Anne and Ferdinand L. von Lindemann, 30 July 1852. 12 June 1876 the title passed to George H. Blohm, merchant from Hamburg, who sold the property to the Danish Lutheran Church 10 June 1908. The Lutheran Church was an established state church under the Danish ownership of the islands and church property was technically government property. Therefore, when the United States purchased the islands from the Danes in 1917, the Government of the Danish Test Indies by deed of gift on 29 March 1917 transferred the ovmer- ship of this property to the Watchful Circle of the King's Daughters of St. Thomas, an organization of the church. This organization transferred the title to the Luthern Church of St. Thomas 29 December 1927, and the various members of the Lutheran Church trans- ferred the title to Frederih Church—Evangelical Address: Nor re Gade 6, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands. Present Owner Frederick Church—Evangelical Lutheran Church and Occupant: of St. Thomas Present Use: Parish hall. Statement of This is a typical well-preserved example of the Significance: larger town houses of Charlotte Amalie from the early nineteenth century. It has served as a parish hall for the St. Thomas Lutheran Church since 1908. JACOB H. S. LIND HOUSE, now BETHANIA FREDERICK LUTHERAN CHURCH PARISH HALL HABS No. VI-15 (Page 2) Lutheran Church of St. Thomas, a Virgin Islands Cor- poration, on 17 November 1964-. Earliest available tax records for this property go back only to 1827, in the U. S. National Archives, Washington, Virgin Islands Records, Record Group 55, St. Thomas and St. John Tax Commission, Matricula (roll or register) 1827, owner Kirs. H. B. Lind, 1196 square alen (one alen equals approximately 2 English feet, 0.627 meters), taxed 37 rigsdaller 36 skilling (one rigsdaller equalled 96 skilling, and equalled approximately one pesos or one piece-of-eight with which value the U. S. dollar v/as equated); matriculae for 1828 and I83I are the same; by 1839 the house had been enlarged to 1394 square alen, taxed 43 rigsdaller 54 skilling; matriculae for I84O and I84I repeat these larger figures. 2. Date of erection: Built before 1827, perhaps c. 1806-17. The plan shown in the Hingelberg Map dated March 1837 is of this building, and corresponds with the assessed area of 1196 square alen in the Matriculae for 1827, 1828, 1831. The only earlier Matricula available in the U. S. National archives is for 1823, and there is no entry for the name Lind in that year suggesting that the house may not have been built until the period 1823-27 by Mrs. Helena Lind, Jacob land's widow. This entire area v/as heavily damaged in a fire in I826, when the church immediately to the east was gutted leaving only the masonry walls standing. Government buildings to the west of the house were entirely destroyed in this fire, and it seems unlikely that if the house were built before 1826 it would have escaped serious damage in the fire. There had also been a serious fire in Charlotte Amalie in 1806, and if this house is part of the prop- erty Mrs. Lind inherited from her husband on his death in 1817, it probably was not built before 1006. 3. Notes on known alterations and additions: Tax Records indicate that the house was enlarged, probably by the addition of service buildings in the rear, between 1831- 39. Matricula for I83I shows that the total assessed area of the buildings was 1196 square alen, which in- creased to 1394 square alen in 1839. In 1908 when the church bought this property they paid $2339.75 for it, and immediately spent $1164.67 on JACOB H. S. LIMD HOUSE, now BETHAN LA FREDERICK LUTHERt'lN CHURCH P/uRISH HALL HABS Mo. VI-15 (Page 3) unspecified repairs. In 1933 when the old people who had been housed in the building were moved elsewhere, the building v/as remodeled to accommodate the primary grades of the Sunday School. Also, in the main building, "the wooden doorway connecting a little room on the north- eastern end of the building with the hall was removed, and the beautiful arch was cut in the wall. Two of the three rooms on the western side of the large hall were used to form the present stage." [Larsen] B. Historical Events and Persons associated with Building: Before this building was bought by the church and named Bethania, it was used as a Post Office. Recorded names of occupants other than the owners include a Dr. Wissing, a general practitioner, and the Gordon family. After the church bought the house in 1908 the west wing was used as an old peoples' home until 1933 with Miss Eliza Wingwood as caretaker. The church has also used the .building for meet- ings of church societies, evening services, Sunday school, bazaars, socials, etc. In 1942-43 it served as an annex to the Charlotte Amalie High School. [Larsen] C. Sources of Information: Primary sources: Deed Books: Kings I, p. 5, and Country Register, p. 223, in the St. Thomas Recorder of Deeds Office. U. S. National Archives, Washington, Virgin Islands Records, Records Group 55, St. Thomas and St. John Tax Commission, Matriculae (roils or registers) for 1827, 1828, 1831, 1839, I84O, 1841. A dimensioned plan of the house is included in the Map of Charlotte amalie, measured, drawn and annotated by Frederick Christian peter Hingelberg (1796-1850) between 1833-37. This portion dated 1837. Photocopies in the St. Thomas Public Library and the Virgin Islands National Park Headquarters, St. Thomas. Secondary sources: Larsen, Jens, editor and principal author, 150th Anniversary of the Dedication of Frederick Evangelical Lutheran Church. Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands: 1943- ("A History of Bet[h]ania" by Adine M. Kean, pp. 58-59). Prepared by Osmund R. Overby, Architect National Park Service August 1965. JACOB H. S. LIND HOUSE, now BETHANIA FREDERICK LUTHERAN CHURCH PARISH HALL HABS No. VI-15 (Page 4 ) PART I I . ARCHITECTURAL INFORMATION A. General Statement 1. Architectural character: Unusual and well-preserved building exhibiting well-executed characteristics of the typical Charlotte Amalie masonry house. The ex- terior has retained its original character and design. The interior shows evidence of changes but many details and design elements have been preserved. 2. Condition of fabric: The building is in good condition and is well maintained. There is some termite infesta- tion of the interior woodwork, but it appears to have been arrested. B. Description of Exterior 1. Size: ...The building has two stories. The U-shaped main building is 66 x 42 feet, with a wing on the west side of the lot 17 x 74 feet. 2. Foundations: Rubble masonry and brick. 3. V/all construction: Rubble masonry with brick lining of corners and all wall openings. All exposed surfaces are stuccoed and lime washed (yellow with white trim). 4. Openings: a. Doorways and doors: The main entrance to the build- ing is through an arched gateway in the center of ; the ground floor which leads to a passageway and the court on the north side of the building. The ground floor rooms (2) can be entered through identical arched door openings directly from the street (2) or from the above-mentioned passageway. They have shutter doors of double board construction. The second floor has four entrances: one is in the center of the west gable reached by a masonry staircase from a small walled-in court opening to the street; the three other entrances to the second floor are on the court or north side of the building (one is centered in the building and is reached by a symmetrical double staircase in masonry JACOB H. S. LIND HOUSE; now BETHA2IIA FREDERICK LUTHERAN CHURCH PARISH BALL HABS No. VI-15 (Page 5) with a center and two side landings and supported on arches over the central, first-floor passage- way; the other two are in the slightly projecting wings). All door openings on the second floor have flat heads with slightly projecting surrounds and keystones, and shutter doors with panels towards the interior and interior paneled and louvercd doors. The wing on the west side of the lot, which con- sists of three adjoining structures lias 11 open- ings towards the court, of which 9 are doors. Ex- cept for one modern door, they are all shutter doors of double board construction. b. Windows: Window openings throughout are flat headed with flat projecting surrounds and key- stones. On the south, east, and west sides of the building the keystones have molded faces. All openings have outside shutters, plain on the exterior and paneled on the interior, and interior jalousie sash. 5. Roof: a. Shape and covering: All roofs awe hipped with corrugated metal roofing and wooden framing. b. Eaves, cornice: The roof has only slightly pro- jecting eaves, except on the wing towards the north lot line, where it is extended into a shed roof covering the gallery. The shed roof is supported on wooden and pipe columns, and has a pie-crust fascia board. The main wing has a flat belt course on the level of the second floor towards the street, projecting corner boards and a molded cornice approximately l'-6" below the eaves along the west, south, and east sides of the building. 6. Chimneys: The end structure of the west wing (north end) is a Cook House and has a chimney over an open hearth. 7. Porches, stoops, bulkheads, etc.: In addition to the previously mentioned staircases, the building has two terraces flanking the central courtyard, built against the lot lines and on the level of the second floor. The terraces have paneled masonry railings and meet the JACOB H. S. LINO HOUSE, now BETHANIA FREDERICK LUTHERAN CHURCH PARISH HALL HABS HO. VI-15 (Page 6) first and lowest of the four levels of the rear sec- tion of the lot. The terrace to the west serves as an open gallery for the west wing and is partially roofed as mentioned above. C. Description of Interior 1. Floor plan: The ground floor has a central passageway from front to bach and two flanking rooms. The second floor of the main rang is occupied for two-thirds of its length by an assembly hall. Two small rooms are lo- cated in the projecting wings towards the court and two more towards the west. The west wing has six rooms in a row, all accessible from the gallery. 2. Stairv/ays: There are no interior stairways. 3. Flooring: The ground floor has flagstone and brick pavements. Staircases and second floor terraces have brick and clay tile pavements. The main wing has wooden flooring. The west wing has wooden flooring, brick,and concrete pavements. 4. Wall and ceiling finishes: Masonry walls throughout the interior are plastered and painted. The ground floor and west wing have wooden ceilings and exposed beams on rafters. The second floor of the main wing has sheathed wooden ceilings. 5. Doorways and doors: The interior doors on the second floor (none on the first floor) are either double doors with three panels for each wing or single eight-paneled doors. 6. Trim: Windows and doors have molded cr fluted casings and in two cases arched overheads. T'oz stage in the west end of the assembly hall is raised approximately 36" and has a paneled front. The trim is otherwise limited to baseboards, cornice, and ceiling moldings. 7. Hardware: Most of the hardware appears to be of recent date. The wrought-iron strap hinges, however, have been preserved throughout and there are box locks, H and L hinges on three doors. JACOB H. S. LIND HOUSE, now BETHANIA FREDERICK LUTHERAN CHURCH PARISH HALL HABS No. VI-15 (Page 7) 8. Lighting: The building has been wired for electricity. D. Site: The building is situated on the north side of NoOrre Gade. It is built to the street line on a lot that slopes steeply up to the north; it is located between the front yard of the Frederick's Lutheran Church to the east and a two-story building to the west in the downtown section of Charlotte Amalie. The lot extends through the block between Norre Gade to the south and Kongens Gade to the north. Above the court to the rear of the building on the same level as the street, the lot rises in four levels retained by masonry walls and connected by staircases. The court has a raised cistern on its north side with a vaulted roof and a well in its center. All roof gutters are connected to the cistern. Prepared by Frederik C. Gjessing, Architect National Park Service December 1960. Jacob H. S. Lind House, now Bethania Charlotte Atrialie Dhoto: Jack E. Boucher, 1960 Jacob H. S. Lind House, now Bethania Charlotte Amalie photo: Jack E. Boucher, 1960 SYNAGOGUE OF BERACHA VESHALCM VEGFIECLUTH HaSIDIM (Blessing and Peace and Acts of Piety) Charlotte Amalie St. Thomas Virgin Islands HISTORIC AMERICAN BUILDINGS SURVEY SYNAGOGUE OF BERACHA VESHALOM VEGEMILUTH HASIDLM (Blessing and Peace and Acts of Piety) HABS No. VI-10 Address: Krystal Gade IbA and B, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands Present Owners The Congregation of Blessing and Peace and Acts and Occupants: of Piety. Present Use: Synagogue. Statement of This synagogue, a well-preserved structure, built Significance: in i833, is among the most interesting buildings on St. Thomas. PART I. HISTORICAL INFOKJATIOH A. Physical History 1. Original and subsequent owners: Built by the St. Thomas Jewish Congregation and continuously owned by them. 2. Date of erection: Built 1833; consecrated 12 September 1833- The following account of the consecration of the synagogue appeared in the Sanct Thomae Tidende for la- September 1833 (on microfilm at the St. Thomas Public Library): "We are happy in having it in our power to congratulate our friends of the Hebrew religion on the early completion of the New Synagogue. About six o'clock on Thursday evening, the Congregation assembled in their temporary place of worship, and shortly after they proceeded to the New Synagogue in the usual ceremonial order. "At 7, His Excellency the Governor, and many respectable persons entered the Building, and immediately after the Consecration Service commenced: - The Lamp for the Perpetual Light borne by the eldest Member of the Congregation, followed by six sacred Rolls of the Pentateuch carried by Members, appeared at the entrance, which the elder Priest received and lighted the Lamp, pronouncing the Benediction, and it was then handed to a younger Priest, who placed it in the stand appropriated for it. SYNAGOGUE OF BEMCHA VESFALOM VEGRMILUTH HASIDIM htJSS No.VI-10 (Page 2) "During the performance of these offices, the Reader returned thanks for being permitted for the first time to -witness this solemn and impressive ceremony - the choir, consist- ing of young ladies and gentlemen, sang the 24th verse of the 118th Psalm. "The Reader then accompanied by the Rulers received the sacred Rolls, the choir sing- ing the 26, 27, 23, and 29th verses of the 118th Psalm, while the same were introduced by a circuitous route to the Reader's desk. - After which, commenced the Prayer for 0 ur Beloved Sovereign ana the Royal Family, as also for their Excellencies the Governor-General, the Governor, and all the other Magistrates - the same was also implored for all the Congregation present. The choristers then sang the 10th verse of the 146 and the 29th Psalm - during which the Rolls of the Pentateuch were deposited in the Ark. The Reader then returned to his Desk, and the choir singing from the 21st to the 29th verse of the 118th Psalm. "An excellent discourse taken from 1st of Kings, chap. 8, verse 13, written expressly for the occasion by Mr. Isaac Lindo, was most emphatically delivered by that gentleman, which made the Congregation deeply impressed with the most pathetic feelings of reverence and devotion. "Offerings were afterwards made, in which the liberality of the assembly was apparent. 'The Service of the Consecration was terminated by the choir chanting a Hymn for the occasion. In concluding our account of this memorable ceremony, it is only doing justice to say, the whole of which was conducted in a manner worthy a people who were the first worshippers of the 'true and living GOD.'" 3. Original construction: A list of subscribers to the building fund for the synagogue was published in the Sanct Thomae Ticlende 30 March and 6 April 1833- $3476 was subscribed as well as substantial contributions in SYNAGOGUE OF BERACHA VESHALOM VEGEIv'ULUTH HASIDIM HriBS No. VI-10 (Page 3) building materials and labor. Subscribers included not only members of the congregation, but also many others from the island and abroad. B. Historical Events Connected with the Structure: Jev/s, along with Roman Catholics, were expressly tolerated by the Government of the Danish '.Vest Indies as early as 1685, but were required to hold only private services. Lutherans and Calvinists were granted full freedom to exercise their rites and practices, and the Lutheran church was the established state church. Although one of the 17th century governors, Gabriel Milan, was Jewish, there does not appear to have been a Jewish community in the West Indies until the end of the 18th century. On his visit to the Moravian Missions in 1777, C. G. A. Oldendorp recorded noting a number of Jews in the Danish West Indies, especially on St. Croix. In 1781 the British, under Admiral Rodney, sacked the Dutch island of St. Eustatius where there was a Dutch Congregation that had erected a synagogue in 1738. With the disruption of commerce and shipping, the St. Eustatius Jews, mostly skippers and merchants, began moving; many settling in St. Thomas. By 1789 there were nine Jewish families on St. Thomas and they built their first synagogue in 1796. This building burned in the great fire of 22 November 180A. In 1812 a new synagogue was built which was replaced by a larger one in 1823. This building burned in 1831 and was replaced by the present building two years later. Denmark, a leader in religious toleration, passed laws in 1814 for the further protection and liberation of the Jev/s, and in 1835 granted permission for intermarriage with gentiles. The St. Thomas community continued to grow with about 400 Jews counted in 1837 and about 500 in 1850. Then, with the sustained decline of business activity that began about the middle of the nineteenth century, the Jewish popu- lation declined until the community had almost disappeared by World War II. Since then the Jewish community has in- creased, sharing the general increase of population and prosperity. The congregation operates under a code of Laws sanctioned by the Danish government in 1848, and follows Sephardic rites and traditions. SYNAGOGUE OF BERACHA VESK4L0M VEGEMILUTH HASIDIM HABS No. VI-10 (Page 4) C. Sources of Information: Unpublished sources: A dimensioned plan of the church dated November 1836 is in- cluded in the Map of Charlotte Amalie, prepared, drawn, and annotated by Frederick Christian Peter Hingelberg, 1833-37. Photocopies at the St. Thomas Public Library, and the Virgin Islands National park Headquarters, St. Thomas. It is the opinion of Miss Enid M. Baa, Chief, Bureau of Libraries and Museums, St. Thomas, who has worked with the records of the congregation, that early records that might shed light on the erection of this building do not survive. On vital statistics in records of the congregation, see: Baa, Enid M., "The Preservation of the Sephardic Records of the Island of St. Thomas, Virgin Islands," Publications of the American Jewish Historical Society, Vol. XLIV (December 1954), PP. 114-19. Published sources: Bieber, Hugo, "Virgin Islands," The Universal Jewish Encyclopedia. Campbell, Albert A., "Note on the Jewish Community of St. Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands," Jewish Social Studies, Vol. IV (April 1942), pp. 161-66. Code of Laws for the Government of the Israelite Congregation in the Island of St. Thomas, prepared by Royal Commission, sanctioned by Frederick VII, 17 February, I848 (Philadelphia, 1848). Hvass, Tyge, Dansk Vestindien, Vol. VI of Aeldre Nordisk .-irchitektur, Mogens Clemmensen, editor (Copenhagen: C. a. Reitzel, 1925), p. 10. Knox, John P., A Historical Account of St. Thomas, W. I. (New York: Charles Scribner, 1852, Reprint 1922), p. 161. Larsen, Jens, Virgin Islands Story (Philadelphia: Muhlenberg Press, 1950), p. 147, 152. Larsen, Kay, Guverngner, Residenter. Kommandanter og Chefer, Samt Enkelte Andre Fremtraedende personer i de Danske Trop- ekolonier (Copenhagen: Arthur Jensens Forlag, 1940), p. 236. SYNAGOGUE OF BERACHA VESHALOM VEGSvil LUTH HAS ID IM HABS No. VI-10 (Page 5) Paiewonsky, Isidor, Jewish Historical Developments in the Virgin Islands, 1665-1959 (St. Thomas, 1959). Westergaard, Waldemar, The Danish V/est Indies Under Company Rule (1671-1754) with a Supplementary Chapter, 1755-1917 (New York: The Macmillan Company, 1917), p. 76 Prepared by Osmund R. Overby, Architect National Park Service August 1965 PART II. ARCHITECTURAL INFORMATION A. General Statement 1. Architectural interest and merit: This small synagogue, a well-preserved structure built in 1833, is architecturally among the most interesting building on St. Thomas. 2. Condition of fabric: Fair; some plaster and paint spalling. B. Description of Exterior 1. Number of stories-, bays; over-all dimensions;ilayoiit-shape : One story, three-bay front: approximately 40' x 50'; rectangular shape. 2. Foundations: Masonry with lime mortar and plaster. 3. Wall construction: Brick and cut stone load-bearing masonry walls with lime mortar and plaster. 4. Openings: a. Doorways and doors: One door each on north (rear) and south (front) sides. South (main) door interior wooden shutters only. Diagonal plank outside and vertical plank inside. North door exterior shutters only; wooden, vertical plank outside and three-panel frame inside. Pointed arches approximately equilateral. b. Windows: One window on each side of doors. Four windows on east and west (side) walls. On north, east, and south walls, windows have exterior wooden shutters; five or six irregular wooden frame panels inside (except south window on east wall which has SYNAGOGUE OF BEPACHA VESHALOM VEGEMILUTH HASIDIM HABS No. VI-10 (Page 6) diagonal plank inside) and exterior vertical or diagonal plank. Interior jalousie shutters two- panel adjustable louvers except on north and south walls, where they are four panels folding in middle of each leaf. Above all interior shutters is tympavum of two-panel fixed wooden frames with fixed louvers. West wall four windows have interior wooden double folding shutters with five irregular panels. No exterior shutters as wall is inches from retaining wall on next prop- erty. All window openings splayed at top from equilateral pointed arch at outer surface to segmental (probably structural) arch on interior wall surface. All windows have su^rotmds on exterior with fur- ther projecting sill, except at rear (north v/all). 5. Roof: a. Shape, covering: Hipped roof v/ith a very short ridge; wooden frame; corrugated metal covering painted red. b. Cornice: Molded cornice with parapet above, hiding much of the roof. No eaves. Downspouts through the parapet to oil drum southwest corner and to neighbor's cistern via their eaves northeast corner. c. Dormer: One barrel vaulted dormer on west slope of roof with wooden shutter or door for access to roof. d. Chimneys: None. C. Description of Interior 1. Floor plans: Square main floor area with masonry plat- form, three risers high at north and south sides and two risers high across part of the west side. Wooden platform one riser high atop the masonry. Platforms on north and south take up the increase in that dimen- sion over east-west. SmyGCGUE OF BEPuiCHA VESHALOM VEGEK1ILUTH HASIDIM HABS No. VI-10 (Page 7) Two masonry risers up to bema on east. Interior Ionic plastered columns at inside of each corner of main floor area. Set on high pedestals. Pulpit and reader's platform on axis to west. High solid wooden paneled railing at first riser of periph- ery platform. All woodwork including benches is of mahogany. 2. Stairways: None. 3- Flooring: Marble tiles about 13" square. Main square floor area covered with about 1" of loose sand. 4. Wall and ceiling finish: Lime plaster painted white. 5. Ceiling: Flat around periphery from walls to interior columns. Over square main floor area is a quadripartite vault. All plastered. 6. Trim: Elaborate architrave, frieze with "dot-dash" motif, and cornice at base of quadripartite vault. Rope molding in arrises of vault. Boss design of Star of David. All in plaster. Mahogany doors of bema flanked by columns on pedestals painted to simu- late marble. They support scrolled pediment with tablets and crown above. 7. Hardware: Wrought iron shutter brackets, pintles, strap hinges, and latch bars. Same on interior of outside shutters. Inside: Four large polished brass candlesticks with electric lights and eight brass finials. 8. Lighting: Large center chandelier and four side ones with candles and one ceremonial chandelier with large candle in front of bema. Two electric fixtures with double brackets on interior of columns. 9. Heating: No facilities. D. Site 1. General setting and orientation: Freestanding building part way up Krystal Gade on Synagogue Hill overlooking Charlotte Amalie harbor. Retaining wall, on property immediately west, up almost to cornice just a few inches from west wall. East wall overlooks roof of residence to east. SYNAGOGUE OF BEPbiCHA. VESHALOM VEGEMILUTH HAS IDEM HABS No. VI-10 (Page 8) 2. Enclosures: Wrought iron fence and gate across parts of front and east side. High masonry retaining wall around terrace to rear (north). 3. Outbuildings: Small freestanding storage building (sacristy) on southwest corner next to gate and on Krystal Gade. Brick with plaster. Pointed arch open- ings with typical shutters. if. Walks: Terrace to rear, of natural stone in cement mortar. Area around portico and portico floor paved with concrete with incised square pattern. Steps are of square marble tiles. 5. Landscaping: None. Prepared by Frederik C. Gjessing, Architect National Park Service April 1959 Synagogue of Beracha Veshalom Vegemiluth Hasidin Charlotte Amalie photo: Don Toschi, 1958 Synagogue of Beracha Veshalom Vegemiluth Hasidin Charlotte Amalie photo: Don Toschi, 1958 IV LIST OF HABS VIRGIN ISLANDS RECORDS A. Structures for which records are available at the Survey's archives at the Library of Congress: ST. CROIX CHRISTIAMSTED Customhouse and Post Office, now Christiansted Library (VI-4); Christiansted National Historic Site. 9 sheets* (1959-60, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 8 ext. photos (I960), 5 int. photos (1960), 3 photocopies of old views (c. 1900, 1906, c. 1920), 2 photocopies of architects' drawings (1831, 1840); 10 data pages (I960, 1965). Fort Christiansvaern (VI-5); Christiansted National Historic Site. 26 sheets (1957, 1959, 1960, 1961, including plot plan, elevations, sections, details); 33 ext. photos (I960), 10 int. photos (I960), 1 photocopy of c. 1905 photo, 5 photocopies of architectural drawings (1741, 1779, 1816, 1836, including plans, elevations, section, detail); 13 data pages (I960). Scalehouse (Old Customshouse) (VI-3), Christiansted National Historic Site. 11 sheets (1959, including plot plan, plans, elevations, sections, details); 7 ext. photos (1958, 1960), 4 int. photos (1958, 1960); 8 data pages (1959, 1965). "Steeple Building," formerly the Lutheran Church of the Lord of Zebaoth (VI-l); Christiansted National Historic Site. 15 sheets (1957, I960, 1966, including site plans, plan, elevations, details, archaeological excavations); 9 ext. photos (1956), 2 int. photos (1957, 1961), 1 photocopy 1830's lithograph; 5 data pages (I960, 1965). ST. JOHN Estate Annaberg Sugar Factory Ruins (VI-18); Virgin Islands National Park. 2 sheets (1959, plot plans); 9 ext. photos (1959); 7 data pages (1965). Estate Annaberg Sugar Factory Ruins, Boiling, Curing and Storage House (VI-19). 3 sheets (1959, including plans, eleva- tions, sections); 5 ext. photos (1959). Estate Annaberg Sugar Factory Ruins, Mill Tower (VI-20). 4 sheets (1962, including plans, elevations, sections). * sheets = sheets of measured drawings. ST THOMAS CHATiLOTTE AMALIE "Catharineberg," Governor Hans Hendrik Berg House (now Denmark Hill)(VI-12). 2 ext. (1958), 3 int. photos (1958); 8 photocopies of measured drawings by Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Copenhagen (1961, including plot plan, plan, elevations, section, details); 10 data pages (1958, 1965). "Catharineberg" Porter's House and Cookhouse (VI-13). 1 ext. photo (1958); 1 photocopy of measured drawing by Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Copenhagen (1961, elevations). Commercial Hotel and Coffee House (now Grand Hotel) (VI-8). 4 ext. photos (1958), 2 int. photos (1958); 10 data pages (1958, 1965). Frederiksfort, "Bluebeard's Castle" (VI-16). 2 ext. photos (1958), 1 int. photo (1958); 7 data pages (1958, 1965). Government House (VI-17). 2 ext. photos (1958), 2 int. photos (1958); 40 data pages (1958, 1965). Jewish Cemetery Chapel, "Beth Ha-Chaim" (House of Life) (VI-14). 2 ext. photos (1958), 1 int. photo (1958); 3 data pages (1958, 1965). Lavalette, A., House (Hotel 1829) (VI-ll). 4 ext. photos (1960), 3 int. photos (i960); 7 data pages (i960, 1965). Lind, Jacob H. S., House; now Bethania, Frederick Lutheran Church Parish Hall (VI-15). 5 ext. photos (i960), 2 int. photos (i960), 2 photocopies of measured drawings by Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Copenhagen (1961, including plan, elevation, section); 7 data pages (i960, 1965). St. Thomas Reformed Church (VI-9). 1 ext. photo (i960), 5 int. photos (i960); 10 data pages (i960, 1965). Synagogue of Beracha Veshalcm Vegemiluth Hasidim (Blessing and Peace and Acts of Piety) (VI-10). 2 ext. photos (1958), 4 int. photos (1958); 8 data pages (1959, 1965). B. Structures for which records have been partially completed**-; **These records are temporarily held at the RAPS Washington Office (Washington Planning and Service Center, National Park Service, 1730 N. Lynn Street, Arlington, Virginia). ST. CROIX CHRISTIANSTED Anglican Church. 8 ext. photos (i960), 9 int. photos (i960); 5 data pages (i960). Drewes House. 3 ext. photos (1958), 2 int. photos (1958); 5 data pages (1959). Dutch Reformed Church, now Christiansted Lutheran Church. 4 ext. photos (1958), 3 int. photos (1958); 8 data pages (1959). Hendrick's Butchery. 2 ext. photos (i960); 2 data pages (i960). Lutheran Church Parsonage. 3 ext. photos (1958), 2 int. photos (1958); 5 data pages (1959). Markoe House. 2 ext. photos (1958), 2 int. photos (1958); 5 data pages (1959). Moravian Church. 6 ext. photos (i960), 4 int. photos (i960); 5 data pages (i960). Moravian Mission House (Moravian Parsonage). 7 ext. photos (1960), 4 int. photos (i960); 5 data pages (i960). Newton House. 2 ext. photos (1958), 2 int. photos (1958); 7 data pages (1959). Pentheny Hotel. 3 ext. photos (1958), 3 int. photos (1958); 6 data pages (1959). 17 Church St. 1 photocopy PJ5A***measured drawing (1961, including plan, elevation). 39 Company St. 4 photocopies RDA measured drawings (1961, including plans, elevations). 67 East St. 3 ext. photos (i960), 2 int. photos (i960); 2 photocopies RDA measured drawings (1961, details); 3 data pages (1960). 67 East St., 24 Hospital St. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, elevations). 4-5 Hill St. 3 ext. photos (i960), 3 int. photos (i960); 3 data pages (i960). y y_y. Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts; Copenhagen, Denmark. 56-58 Hill St. 5 ext. photos (i960), 5 int. photos (i960); 4 data pages (i960). Hospital St. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, street elevation). 21-22 Hospital St. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, elevation). 23 Hospital St. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, elevation). 24-26 Hospital St. 3 photocopies RDA measured drawings (1961, including plans, elevations, detail). 21 King St. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, plans). 45B-46A King St. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, plans). 52 King St. 8 photocopies RDA measured drawings (1961, including plans, elevations, sections, details). 56-57 King St. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, plans). 58 King St. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, including plans, elevation). 7 King's Cross St. 2 ext. photos (i960); 4 data pages (i960). 33-35 Strand St. 5 ext. photos (i960); 5 data pages (i960). COMPANY'S QUARTER Billows Minde. 10 ext. photos (1961), 8 int. photos (1961). Richmond. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, plan). Richmond Prison. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, elevation. FRDDERIKSTED Benjamin House. 3 ext. photos (1958), 1 int. photo (1958); 5 data pages (1959). Customhouse. 3 ext. photos (1958), 1 int. photo (1958); 5 data pages (1959). Frederiksfort. 5 ext. photos (1958), 2 int. photos (1958); 4 data pages (1959). "Toldboden". 3 photocopies RDA measured drawings (1961, including plan, elevations, section). 5-7 King St. 1 photocopy PDA measured drawing (1961, elevation). 8-9 King St. 1 photocopy PDA measured drawing (1961, elevation). 10-13 King St. 2 photocopies PDA measured drawings (1961, elevations). 14-17 King St. 1 photocopy PDA measured drawing (1961, elevations). 18 King St. 1 photocopy PDA measured drawing (1961, elevation). 37B King St. 3 photocopies FDA measured drawings (1961, including plans, elevations, section). LA Market St. 2 photocopies PDA measured drawings (1961, including plans, elevations). 13 Queen St. 4 photocopies PDA measured drawings (1961, including plan, elevation, section, detail). 44 Queen St. 1 photocopy PDA measured drawing (1961, elevation). 10-13 Strand St. 1 photocopy PDA measured drawing (1961, elevation). 14-17 Strand St. 1 photocopy PDA measured drawing (1961, elevations). FREDERIKSTED VICINITY Whim Great House. 4 data pages (i960). KING'S QUARTER Orange Grove. 3 photocopies RDA measured drawings (1961, including plan, elevation, section). Slob Estate Great House. 2 ext. photos (i960); 3 data pages (i960). MIDLANDS Fredensfeld Moravian Church, 3 ext. photos (1958), 3 int. photos (1958); 7 data pages (1959). Fredensfeld Moravian Church Mission House. 2 ext. photos (1958); 3 data pages (1959). PRINCE'S QUARTER Mount Pleasant. 2 photocopies PDA measured drawings (1961, elevations). QUEEN'S QUARTER Sion Farm Great House. 3 ext. photos (i960), 3 int. photos (i960); 2 photocopies EDA measured drawings (1961, including elevation and entry detail). Sion Hill Estate Cookhouse. 1 ext. photo (i960). Sion Hill Estate Factory Ruin. 9 ext. photos (1960). Sion Hill Estate Great House. 7 ext. photos (i960), 4 int. photos (1960); 3 data pages (i960). Sion Hill Estate Mill. 4 ext. photos (i960), 1 int. photo (1960). Sion Hill Estate Stable. 1 ext. photo (i960). ST. JOHN Caneel Bay Plantation. 15 ext. photos (i960), 1 int. photo (i960); 5 data Pages (1960). " Christiansfort, Cruz Bay. 1 ext. photo (i960). Estate Reef Bay Wattle House. 2 ext. photos (1961), 2 int. photos (1961). Estate Reef Bay Great House and Service Building. 8 ext. photos (1960). Estate Reef Bay Sugar Factory Ruin. 13 ext. photos (1959). Frederiksfort Coral Bay. 7 ext. photos (i960); 3 data pages (1960). Hammer Farm Windmill. 3 ext. photos (1965). May Point Estate Great House. 2 ext. photos (1965). Susannaberg Windmill. 3 ext. photos (1965). ST. THOMAS CHARXOTTE AMALIE Lutheran Church. 3 ext. photos (1958), 3 int. photos (1958); 3 data pages (i960). Lutheran Church Parsonage. 3 ext. photos (1958), 1 int. photo (1958); 3 data pages (i960). Quarters B. 3 ext. photos (1958), 2 int. photos (1958). Dronningens Gade 2. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, plans). Dronningens Gade 8B-18. 2 photocopies RDA measured drawings (1961, street elevations). Dronningens Gade 8B. 3 photocopies RDA measured drawings (1961, including plans, elevations). Dronningens Gade 10. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, plans). Dronningens Gade 11-15. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, street elevation). Dronningens Gade 16-18. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, elevation). Dronningens Gade 22.. 3 photocopies RDA measured drawings (1961, including plan, elevations). Dronningens Gade 25B. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, including elevation, section). Dronningens Gade 32. 8 photocopies RDA measured drawings (1961, including plan, elevations, section, details). Kongens Gade IB.. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, plans). Kronprinsens Gade 5. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, elevation). Kronprinsens Gade 22. 2 photocopies RDA measured drawings (1961, including plans, elevation, section). Kronprinsens Gade 76. 2 photocopies RDA measured drawings (1961, including plan, elevation). Kronprinsens Gade 78. 1 photocopy RDA measured drawing (1961, elevation).